Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from midlands, UK

Comfortable hotel in beautiful surroundings

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Beautiful location, quiet but easy to access amalfi (through a pedestrian tunnel from atrani)
Cons: A few self catering essentials e.g. Washing up liquid could be provided
Location: Beautiful location, nice pool in hotel, easy access to atrani and amalfi where buses can be caught to ravello, positano.
We found the hotel location to be perfect for us. It is a 15 min walk from amalfi so we found that we were able to escape the crowds whilst being close enough to easy get to restaurants etc. There are a lot of steps to the hotel from atrani but this seems to be the case everywhere along the coast. The rooms are comfortable and airy, the decor is perhaps a little dated but this was not a major problem. We had a terrace which was lovely to sit out on and the pool and surroundings were excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great views, disappointed with service

Posted Sep 9, 2017
The view from the terrace was lovely. The service and additional costs were disappointing. We had to pay 50 Euros to pick up keys at 9.30pm as afternoon flights get in Naples at 7pm, checkout at 9am sharp, pay 10 euros each for sheet and towel change and pay 200 Euro deposit. The apartment was well provisioned but no fans or air conditioning made some nights uncomfortable. The noise travels on movements upstairs onto lower flats so earplugs recommended. The address is really Atrani as Ravello is an hour walk and 300 metre ascent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Beautiful villa

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The view
Cons: providing shuttle for people who have problems climbing stairs
Location: it was wonderful
We were very pleased with our Villa. It was clean, big and comfortable. It was 15 min away from Amalfi, which is over 500 stairs in one direction, if you don't mind climbing them every time you want to go to dinner. The view was breathtaking. I would say the only thing that I was taken back was by the high fee, if you want to check in or check out outside of the regular hours.
5 out of 5
by Christopher

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful location is very convenient great atmosphere
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor

fantastic view, spacious house, challenging access

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: The view is even better than in photos. House is kept spotless. Pool area and houses seem to be recently upgraded. 5-minute walk down to Atrani/beach.
Cons: Better up-front declaration of management needs regarding deposit and cleaning rules. It wasn't awful for us but others may not take it all as well.
Location: Atrani is 5 minutes away on foot, Amalfi about 15 minutes. Small market in Atrani supplied us just fine. From Amalfi you can catch buses and boats.
Overall we loved our stay here. We would give it 5 stars but downgraded to 4 only because they aren't accommodations for everyone. It is run 'old-school' so there are things the staff finds obvious that the guests may not; luckily we read previous reviews and were prepared for the 200 euro in cash deposit required for the key. There is access to beach on foot which we found lovely but does require on the way back a walk up the hilly steps (8-15 minutes depending on your level of fitness.) If arriving by car, just know that the road access is a narrow one-way-at-a-time road where if you miss the gates you won't be able to back up easily in traffic; driveway itself is downward, a series of narrow hairpin turns. Don Nicola is friendly but speaks very little English, so be prepared to deal in Italian. Read the house notes they leave on the table; you are responsible for the recycling and trash before leaving (not difficult) as well as washing of kitchen items (we found this not too unreasonable.) Laundry facilities great but from our house #4 was about 3-4 flights of steps up the hill.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice surroundings.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Our villa was very nice and being able to walk down 300 steps to get to the coast and access restaurants, bars and shops was convenient.
Cons: Linen changes every 3 days instead of 7 days. Being able to hand in the keys and get your cash deposit back before 6.30am without a 50 euro surcharge.
Location: Location was nice and easy to get to local places especially Ravello but, the main road is very narrow with traffic congestion and vehicles hooting!
Although a nice villa complex, it was awkward to drive in and around the complex even though I had good driving skills Steep hills everywhere. Situated in a valley was very nice but, was woken up every morning around 6.30am by machinery and banging by local workman working in their work yards based in the valley. Local dogs barking most of the day and night was annoying.
2 out of 5
by Emily from Villa Rosa

Residence Villa Rosa

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
200 € deposit not listed on confirmation details. Not actually located in the town of Ravello. I would recommend a car service to be arranged to pick up villa visitors to drive them to the residence as a part of standard check in service. The car service utilized once we found the residence was excellent. Difficult check in and check out.
4 out of 5
by Kathy A. from Youngstown Ohio

Getting around at Villa Rosa residence

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
It was a very pretty Little resort however you had to have a car and it was a very steep drive in and out you could walk down to the town of Atrauni but it was a long walk with nothing but steps down and even could hardly walk up we had to take the bus up to Revello and then take a cab back down to our Resort And the cab cost €20 it was very inconvenient if you Did not take your car everywhere The unit itself was very very difficult to find in the first place it only has a black wrought iron gate and unless you have a very good GPS you would have a very hard time finding it But it was a very pretty place and it had a great view
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what we expected, read closer

Posted Jul 26, 2015 on Hotels
It's a beautiful site, but with the heat wave and all the steps reuired to get down into Atrani, it was not the most convenient. This is a self-catering residence, but some simple food stuffs could have been provided, at least until one gets orientated in the area. You can get some produce from the fruit & vegetable shop in Atrani and he will drive it up to Villa Rossa. Sundays the shops are closed, but there is a store in Amalfi.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Frequent climbing of very steep steps!

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: The view
The hotel/apartment is not really in Ravello at all. The setting is quite pretty and the terrace was nice and picturesque however it is significantly closer to Atrani than Ravello. It is worth noting that taxi’s will not drive down into the complex due to the severity of the slopes and as a result anyone staying will be doing strenuous and frequent climbing of very steep steps. Overall the area is beautiful but this apartment would be more suited to self catering holiday with occasional visits to other towns surrounding Amalfi than to those wishing to eat out or visit the local beaches