Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Rawlinsuuuuuyu

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Nice hotel. Only thing is I couldn’t control the air
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Acceptable accommodation...

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: the price
Cons: see my comments above - if all the bathrooms were anything like ours, they all need to be gutted and refitted
There is nothing specifically bad about this hotel, and for the price, it's probably average. However, the bathroom in our room was in serious need of a total makeover - chipped and moldy grout in the tub and a metal rod halfway falling out of the wall to hold toilet tissue are below basic in my mind. I've stayed in worse places (by accident), but this location is v-e-r-y average.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by william, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review on Expedia. We are checking to see which room you stayed in to correct the issues with the grout and the toilet paper holder. I appreciate you calling these items to our attention. Should you visit Rawlins again we would welcome your next visit. Sincerely, Dave Rader EconoLodge of Rawlins
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Need renovation and/or major deep cleaning.

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Staff was nice, and they had a decent breakfast for a budget hotel.
Cons: Renovate and/or deep clean this place.
Location: Not much to do in Rawlins, except the frontier prison tour - which is great.
One of the dirtiest and most run-down hotels I've been in. Pool was too dirty to use. Room was very dirty with layers of dust/dirt on the window sills and on top of furniture, etc. It has been a long time since this place as really cleaned well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by william, Hotel Management
Nate, Thank you for your review. I am sorry that we did not meet or exceed your expectations. I have shared your comments with our staff to make sure we are doing a better job for all of our guests. Sincerely, Dave Rader EconoLodge of Rawlins
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boise

Bed not bad for 1 night

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Place to slept
Cons: Breakfast was sub par.
Location: Martins Cove
Driving through we just wanted a place to sleep for few hours. Hotel was ok, bed was not too bad. Not the cleanest place but we just slept showered and headed out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by william, Hotel Management
Mike, Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay for the brief period you were our guest and look forward to your next visit to Rawlins! Sincerely, Dave Rader EconoLodge of Rawlins
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Posted Aug 17, 2017
This lodge had shotty Wi-Fi, loud air conditioning in the rooms and business center that did not work. Rooms were ok but with so many options in the town of Rawlins, I'd recommend going somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by william, Hotel Management
Mike, Thank you for your review of our hotel. I appreciate your feedback as we work to improve our guest experience to all that visit us. I hope you would consider visiting us again as we work to improve our product. Sincerely, Dave Rader EconoLodge of Rawlins
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

An upgraded Econolodge

Posted Jul 30, 2017
A very nice and clean facility. Competively priced for the area and eating areas are close by. The breakfast was adequate with a large dining space.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2017 by william, Hotel Management
Ron, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we very much look forward to your next visit to Rawlins! Sincerely, Dave Rader EconoLodge of Rawlins
1 out of 5
by Michael

Disappointing

Posted Jul 22, 2017 on Hotels
Didn't have a very good experience. Here are a few of the minor issues we experienced: AC turned off and the room as 83 degrees when we arrived (took all evening to cool down), towel rack feel off the wall, cable TV didn't work, and unstable wifi. (In this day and age, all a hotel really needs is a decent bed and good wifi.) Here was a major issue we experienced: one of the beds had sharp metal sticking 2 inches out and my daughter cut herself on it. The hotel was quite dismissive and offered $20. I pointed out that they hadn't asked to see the bed, my daughter, or a picture of the cut. When I showed them a picture of the cut, their tune started to change. However, I never got a call from the hotel manager or owner like I requested. Overall, mediocre maintenance and unusually poor service. I wouldn't come back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017 by William, Hotel Management
Michael, Thank you so much for your feedback on our hotel. I am very sorry that you had the issues you identified. I was informed of your issues by the staff and we refunded the complete nights stay. Please know that this is not the level of service we wish to provide. I was in and out of the property and apologize for not getting in touch with you the day of the event. Thank you again for your feedback. I will allow us to provide a better experience for all of our guests. Sincerely, Dave Rader EconoLodge of Rawlins
5 out of 5
by greg

Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was nice and clean. Needs some updating but if you just need a clean room and good breakfast this is the place for you. Priced right and staff was awesome!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by William, Hotel Management
Greg, Thank you so much for your very kind review of our hotel. I will share your comment about our staff with them. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we very much look forward to your next visit to Rawlins! Sincerely, Dave Rader EconoLodge of Rawlins
4 out of 5
by craig

not to bad

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
The rooms were clean and comfortable but the breakfast left a lot to be desired.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by William, Hotel Management
Craig, Thank you for your review of our hotel. I will be checking with our staff to see about any issues you may have had with the breakfast. We appreciate your input and look forward to your next visit to Rawlins! Sincerely, Dave Rader EconoLodge of Rawlins
5 out of 5
by david

enjoyable overnight

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
I would recommend this for an overnight,..Helpful staff, Clean, convenient, bar and restaurant attached,, Desiree was our watress and she made us feel welcome to the area.l
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by William, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! I will share your comments with our staff, especially Desiree! We very much look forward to your next visit to town! Sincerely, Dave Rader EconoLodge of Rawlins