Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Nice hotel and close to highway.

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Mattress upgrade maybe a pillow top for a softer more comfy rest.
Location: Excellent location by the highway. Also was close to where we needed to be for a wedding
This hotel was excellent in most ways. The only thing was that the mattresses could have been softer. No pillow tops, only flat and could have been more comfortable. Most hotels have tea bags with the coffee but they only had tea bags if you ask for them at breakfast. A little more variety at breakfast would have been nice to. Would like to have had waffles or pancakes. Overall it was really clean and upgraded.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Quiet hotel and good value

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: It was a perfect location for us although far from any big towns. The breakfast had real plates and cloth napkins
This would be a great place for a family reunion. Very out of the way. No major towns nearby. Very relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oshkosh,wi

Nice place to stop on the way

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: I loved the tube style tv in my room I wondered were they all went
I had not planned to stop but the weather forced me off the road early. decided to stay at a non chain hotel. The hotel has a park like setting and was designed as a small conference center... A nice full service bar and restaurant, the food was just fine. It was refreshing to stay at a hotel that was not part of a big cookie cutter chain, had a nice meal and a much needed rest. Bed was fine, good pillows, sat. TV. etc... In the morning the room count was not enough to put out the usual breakfast buffet so they cooked us all made to order breakfast, very nice!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, Comfortable, nice pool

Posted Feb 23, 2016
We attended a birthday party and stayed the night. It was a good experience. The pool was heated, clean and spacious. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was included and good. We will be coming back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mundelein IL

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Pros: nothing, i want my money back.
Cons: need updated pictures. i based my decision to book the hotel based on the pictures and when you get there and see the hotel it was a let down.
Location: nothing to do but keep driving.
i did no like the stay. The lunge staff was unhelpful. the hotel feels out of date (1980 feel). It needs a little face lift.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

getaway

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: The scenery, they have a pond with a paddle wheel boat and a wood deck and gazebo. the grandkids could fish in the pond.
Location: There really is nothing nearby but a gas station with a small diner.
indoor pool, lounge and restaurant makes it so you do not need to leave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2014
attended a meeting very nice convenient staff was nice food for lunch was good breakfast could have been better
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from Long Beach, CA

Your only real local option

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Cons: Definitely needs remodeled! Put in an elevator.
This was our third stay (previously it was called the Best Western) and it has pretty much remained unchanged, although this time was the first we stayed onthe second floor. Biggest issue? No elevator. Normally not a problem but a real pain with little kids and lots of luggage. Ask for the first floor. It's pretty standard and nothing "Grand" as the name would indicate. The rooms and setting are a bit dated and worn but overall, clean and ok. Breakfast is included and it's pretty standard, eggs, ham, potatoes, the usual cereal and toast. It's our only close option when visiting family and friends in nearby Carlinville (although it is still a good 10+ miles to town). Your only other options are two local, dodgy motels unless you want to drive out further.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ALWAYS A NICE STAY

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: Quiet
We have been coming here for years. Always a pleasant stay. Staff is very nice, and most have been with the hotel for a number of years.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ryan from Chicago

Nice hotel, remote location, and terrible food.

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Pros: Very nice staff, nice pool, clean rooms.
Cons: FOOD, the restaurant was not very expensive but way overpriced for the quality of food.
Location: Antique shop, everything else is a 15-20 minute drive.
I have stayed at the Magnuson 3 times in the last couple weeks and I found the staff to be very pleasant and the facility to be nice (despite its out dated décor etc). The one thing that bothered me was the terrible food, I tried 3 different items on the menu over the various stays and also had the complimentary breakfast buffet which I could not even eat. I feel they need to focus more on improving their food as they are in a remote location with not a lot of options close by.