Ratings based on 262 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2018
Ridiculously warm room. Fan that sounded like concorde taking off. No net curtains on windows that were directly overlooked. Seriously average furniture and decoration. A massive disappointment from mercure. I may as well have stayed in a travelodge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in historical building

Posted May 8, 2018
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a more authentic experience without neglecting comfort and security. The room had everything I needed (apart from a kettle) and the bed was very comfortable. I was also able to leave my bag with reception for the day after checking out and they tagged my luggage which lots of hotels in the same price range don't do. Will definitely come back if I ever happen to be in Reading again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ely, Cambs

Great location

Posted Apr 30, 2018
Fantastic old building - quirky but full of character. Location for central Reading is perfect. Room was large, ensuites very nice. I love it and will definitely return and would recommend to all my friends and family.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2018 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2018 on Hotels
a brilliant hotel with lovely staff
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2018 on Hotels
The room was good value but badly laid out and very hot. Couldn't find any way to reduce the temperature except keep the windows open, which meant that i was disturbed by noise outside. Nearly good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Second stay, can't complain about anything!

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: All was to our satisfaction
Location: Great location, near all shops, river, restaurants and bars
Perfectly located, write next to Oracle and all shopping, bars, restaurants. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
by John

one night in reading

Posted Dec 18, 2017 on Hotels
location great for shopping and bars.ncp car park near by . I paid £7.00 for 22 hrs stay. hotel nice and clean .the room was on the small side but only paid £56 for room one night . would stay again. thanks
4 out of 5
by Dave

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 18, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Patrick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2017 on Hotels