Ratings based on 355 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oxford

great staff

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Food, Staff, leisure facilities the room
Location: went to reading festival
Stayed here on a really busy weekend when it was reading festival. found our room to be really nice and clean everything you needed in there for a short stay. Myself and the children used pool, spa and sauna excellent facilities. The one thing that really makes this place is the staff. from housekeeping to management all staff cannot do enough for you and are all very friendly and happy must be a good place to work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review, and for highlighting our wonderful staff. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saffron Walden

Good place to stay

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable bed, close to centre, excellent breakfast
Cons: Update bathrooms. Add a chair to the dressing table to assist those wanting to do their hair, make up etc.
Location: Close to the centre of Reading so ideal for shopping and the University
This was my first stay in a Holiday Inn and I was not disappointed. A very comfy and clean bed and blackout curtains meant a good nights sleep. The room was spacious with good TV and free Wi-Fi. The bathroom was clean which is the most important thing but it would benefit from being updated as it looks a little tired. The breakfast choice was wide and the food was plentiful and very tasty, I did not need to eat for the rest of the day! I managed to get parked even though I arrived quite late in the day but this hotel has a large car park thankfully. The hotel is large but I did not have any problem with noise. Being able to use the small pool and gym is a bonus and I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire

Foyer nice rooms not so good

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Breakfast. Didn't spend much time in the hotel but was ok
Cons: Shower very poor
Location: We went to a wedding so was ideal for that
Overall good. Lovely foyer & great breakfast. Rooms clean but bathroom very small & shower very old.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Samantha Dunion, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read your comments regarding our breakfast. Thank you also for highlighting areas that you feel require attention, and I can assure you that your comments have been taken on board. Should you wish to discuss any matter further, please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel. Kind Regards, Samantha Dunion General Manager
3 out of 5
by R

Overall an OK place.

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
Fairly good. We had breakfast and dinner. Not a great place for food.
5 out of 5
by Gabrielle

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel very accomodating for our various little needs! Very comfortable and friendly. Staff very eager to help. We (particularly the children!) were very impressed with being able to use the pool and spa facilities. We had not noted that when we made the choice to book,so it was a nice bonus! Restaurant food and was delicious (if a little pricey) Drinks at the bar served with patience and care,but again, rather pricey!! All in all though, a very enjoyable stay (4 nights) and we would highly recommend. It was a good "base" for us,to visit Henley On Thames, and the more rural areas...and Legoland! Thank you very much!!
5 out of 5
by Lauren

Lovely staff

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
I only stayed for one night but it was a lovely hotel and the staff were very friendly! (especially the receptionist Sam) will 100% be back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

Ok hotel close to legoland

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Staff did everything thing where possible to rectify problems
Cons: Pool cleanliness without compromise
Location: Pass
Swimming pool was cloudy and left my wife and son with a rash the following day
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Very old hotel with rooms that need refurbishment. The room was probably the furthest room from reception and was not very clean. Big stain on floor outside bathroom and radiator leaking on carpet. Stains on the bottom of the bed and bathroom had dirty bin. Bathroom was also quite small and tight to move around in. On the plus side, bed was very comfortable and staff were very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Week end stay

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Excellent facilities and very friendly staff.
Cons: Always better with the price being reduced.
Location: Ideal location for the Madjeski stadium for rugby or football, and a short taxi journey into Reading.
Very relaxing weekend stay,with spacious room and clean and friendly environment.
4 out of 5
by Paul

Good public areas, worn down rooms!

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
Communal areas including fitness area have benefitted from investment. Breakfast was good value and plentiful and started early to accommodate competitors in the local marathon. Rooms could really do with a spruce up - quite old fashioned and clearly been patched up a few too many times. Even the kids commented!