Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Nothing fancy. More than adequate. Very friendly staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best possible location in Reading town centre

Posted Jun 27, 2017
The room was very hot, although my stay coincided with the hottest day in 40 years. No air-con in the room, just a table fan that tried its best. The carpet was very dated. The room and en-suite bathroom were tiny but clean. I had no issue checking in, even though it was unmanned at the time of the day. The full english breakfast was nice. The location was very central in Reading town and the station is just round the corner. I would visit again if travelling alone, but never ever with family.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Not suitable for Business worker

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Location is great for socialising
Cons: A/C Soundproofing
Options limited in the area because of Royal Ascot so decided to try this BnB in Reading. Parking in the area is limited and traffic wardens ARE quick off the mark as I had only parked in the next street to offload my luggage. Room was functional, with ensuite and a good shower. First issue was no wi-fi. Card left in the room saying "Cloud" available but neither phone or laptop gave this option (rectified next day, alternative given by management). No desk, chair or even bedside table in the room so can be a bit cramped and all had a look like it hasn't been updated for a very long time. This week has been the hottest so far this year, my first thoughts on entering the room was, a fan - yes! But it was still so hot in the room I opened the window (big mistake). Disturbed on each of my four night stays from 9pm, midnight, and after 1am. O'Neills pub courtyard directly below emptied crate after crate of bottles in to wheelie bins, the noise was crazy. This was on top of the noise from the big A/C units all humming away cutting in and out through the night on the walls outside the window - yet my room didn't have any aircon, it if did maybe I could close the window and get a decent night's sleep.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Disappointing hotel

Posted May 26, 2017
The confirmation stated check in reception open till 9pm. Arrived 8 pm no reception no instructions luckily found an envelope with my name on it in an unlocked post box by hotel. The room was very small and not the cleanest (no duvet cover on duvet and some unpleasant looking hairs and stains on the duvet. (No one to complain to). The room was extremely hot but there was a choice hot and sweaty with window closed or cooler but deafening loud thump of music from night club that must be very close. Unrefreshed and keen to leave in the morning we decided to live with the change in check out time from the confirmation stated 10am to the note in the room that stated 9.30. We left and went for the confirmation stated breakfast included only to find cafe where breakfast was supposed to be shut with no sign of life. Again no sigh of anyone for check out so left room key in same unlocked post box and left never to return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stevenage

A nice B&B

Posted May 8, 2017
3 nights stay to attend a training course in Reading. Good locayion. Met my needs
4 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west yorkshire

reading visit

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: close to shops and eating places what more can i say?
Cons: the stairs from our room to outside were very dangerous because of a faulty sensor which failed to switch on the light leaving it too dark to see the stairs,staff informed but no action taken .booked b&b wed to fri breakfast ok sat not until 9-30 and no breakfast served at all on sunday
Location: museum across the road in the town hall ,cinema close by.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

OK for overnight but only if a low price is offer

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
Booked a single and got a double so that was a nice surprise. Walls are paper thin so bring earplugs. TV didn't work. Room is a bit depressing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for the night

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Finding the bnb was very easy being on the Main Street from the train station. Arriving late, the instructions for picking up my key card was very clear and all went smoothly. The room was small but cosy, comfortable, clean and had everything I needed- including a fan (which was needed due to it being one of the hottest days of the year). The shower was powerful and clean. Despite being on a Main Street I also believe the windows were very effective at keeping out any noise. Very easy to get breakfast in the morning and check out. Would recommend.
4 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels