Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winchester

It was bery convenient and comfortable

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Very clean. Close to the station. Bfast was good. The plugs are actually on the right place
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Very basic but perfectly acceptable except for the noise. Room backed on to rear of a pub which had loud pulsating music till the early hours, followed by the staff emptying bottles into bit at 0247. Not the hotels fault but be aware.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Ideal well priced centrally locate BnB

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Pros: The central location had to be liked.
Cons: n/a
Location: Reading is a really nice town, as you probably already knew as you're looking at this page.
A lovely little B&B on top of a sandwich shop in the centre of Reading a couple of minutes away from the station. If there was one thing that worried me, it was getting the key card. Had the sandwhich shop being shut, I imagine I'd have had to ring one of the three numbers on the door to get my key card. I didn't though, just a concern had I turned up out of hours. They used key cards, which shows the place is modern. A nice modern television inside too. Breakfast was served in the cafe area of the sandwich shop downstairs. Very nice, full English breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

private

Posted Nov 16, 2017
I liked the way it was lightly staffed and I was left to my own devices (privacy appreciated), My room was next to a pub which was very loud until the early hours plus a generator was situated directly underneath my window, None of which posed much of a problem once the window was shut, I imagine this would be a problem in the summer though. My room was clean and comfortable with a fully functioning TV (again, appreciated) The staff I spoke to on phone to locate my door key and the lady in the morning who served my breakfast were pleasant and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Nothing fancy. More than adequate. Very friendly staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cambridge

Don't believe the webpage

Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Orbitz
Backs onto nightclub. No sleep. Loud music. Smashing bottles in garbage containers. Drunks shouting. No breakfast on Sunday. No discount for no breakfast. Smallest room ever. You can actually touch both walls easily. Toilet was broken. Water ran all night. No staff to help. Nice name. Good location for train station. Spend your money elsewhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best possible location in Reading town centre

Posted Jun 27, 2017
The room was very hot, although my stay coincided with the hottest day in 40 years. No air-con in the room, just a table fan that tried its best. The carpet was very dated. The room and en-suite bathroom were tiny but clean. I had no issue checking in, even though it was unmanned at the time of the day. The full english breakfast was nice. The location was very central in Reading town and the station is just round the corner. I would visit again if travelling alone, but never ever with family.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Not suitable for Business worker

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Location is great for socialising
Cons: A/C Soundproofing
Options limited in the area because of Royal Ascot so decided to try this BnB in Reading. Parking in the area is limited and traffic wardens ARE quick off the mark as I had only parked in the next street to offload my luggage. Room was functional, with ensuite and a good shower. First issue was no wi-fi. Card left in the room saying "Cloud" available but neither phone or laptop gave this option (rectified next day, alternative given by management). No desk, chair or even bedside table in the room so can be a bit cramped and all had a look like it hasn't been updated for a very long time. This week has been the hottest so far this year, my first thoughts on entering the room was, a fan - yes! But it was still so hot in the room I opened the window (big mistake). Disturbed on each of my four night stays from 9pm, midnight, and after 1am. O'Neills pub courtyard directly below emptied crate after crate of bottles in to wheelie bins, the noise was crazy. This was on top of the noise from the big A/C units all humming away cutting in and out through the night on the walls outside the window - yet my room didn't have any aircon, it if did maybe I could close the window and get a decent night's sleep.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Disappointing hotel

Posted May 26, 2017
The confirmation stated check in reception open till 9pm. Arrived 8 pm no reception no instructions luckily found an envelope with my name on it in an unlocked post box by hotel. The room was very small and not the cleanest (no duvet cover on duvet and some unpleasant looking hairs and stains on the duvet. (No one to complain to). The room was extremely hot but there was a choice hot and sweaty with window closed or cooler but deafening loud thump of music from night club that must be very close. Unrefreshed and keen to leave in the morning we decided to live with the change in check out time from the confirmation stated 10am to the note in the room that stated 9.30. We left and went for the confirmation stated breakfast included only to find cafe where breakfast was supposed to be shut with no sign of life. Again no sigh of anyone for check out so left room key in same unlocked post box and left never to return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stevenage

A nice B&B

Posted May 8, 2017
3 nights stay to attend a training course in Reading. Good locayion. Met my needs