Ratings based on 243 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room 417

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Room 417 has a sloping floor. So sloping that items on the bedside table roll away!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Exmouth

Central Reading close to shops and amenities

Posted Nov 11, 2017
I was in a newly refurbished single room. Quite small but acceptable. Shame about the noise from the nearby nightclub but they did at least stop at midnight. I would return
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

A mixed bag

Posted Oct 4, 2017
A beautiful old building. Slightly nasty brown furniture but passable. A shower over bath configuration so poorly designed that it made its use almost impossible. With some contortion I just about managed it! The most disappointing of views ie an ugly flat roof.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice staff

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: The staff were nice and gave me a free room upgrade.
Cons: Help with baggage -- had to go through a labyrinth of stairs to get to my room. Was exhausting after a long journey.
Location: Bars, restaurants, and, if it's your thing, a proper greasy full English breakfast.
This place is very central so that's a real bonus for getting around. It's an old, charming and historic building, but be prepared to walk up many stairs; especially if like me you end up on the 5th floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from poole

Great hotel in centre of Reading

Posted Jul 26, 2017 on Ebookers
This hotel was just as sold on the booking site. Great twin room with very comfortable beds. All facilities in the room that you would expect to be there. Room was clean and I couldn't find fault. I was in a room in the 2nd floor with a side facing room (away from the street side), this meant I didn't hear any noise from elsewhere in the hotel or from outside on the street. This hotel is right in the centre of Reading, there isn't any parking but NCP car park is a short walk away and offers an overnight rate of £3. I couldn't fault this hotel, although they do lock the gates to get into the hotel after 11pm, so you need to buzz to get let in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and character.

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Right in the centre of town, close to lots of great restaurants, shops, train station etc. Single room a nice size. No air conditioning, but fan was provided - big help with the street noise.
3 out of 5
by Steven

Great room, everything else less good.

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
No car park, which I suppose we should have realised. Noisy in the street outside overnight. Trailed along lots of stairs and corridors, to a room two floors directly above the entrance (no lift). Very nice room, large and comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in excellent location.

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Stayed here 3 years on the trot. Rooms are lovely, staff are very friendly and helpful. Location is great.
3 out of 5
by Helen

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel in a great location, but no lift, and if you are right at the top, which I was, it is a nightmare lugging stuff up and down. Toilet was making noises, kettle was leaking, one blind did not work, and tap didn't close completely. Front of house also wasn't very good. Grasp of English was a prob - I was asking for directions, and the guy was trying to check me out.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels