Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel but not what I expected. Below standard

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Bedroom window broken Lobby bad odour Reception staff not in uniform Glasses lying all around Doesn't serve food over weekends Toilets dirty and smells
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berwick upon Tweed

Posted Aug 21, 2017
The Parkside is a very reasonably priced hotel and in a quiet location. It is within walking distance of the town centre. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Only negative comment would be that the breakfast was very disappointing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice big room

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Nice big room but building work on hotel behind and car park limited. Bath water in one room lukewarm but in the other was lovely. Plenty of shower gel and soap etc in little bottles. TV was good. Plenty of channels. Location good as quieter out of Reading but easy access in.
4 out of 5
by Carolien

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
Nothing special but clean and good value for money. Very thin walls... or a very loud neighbour
5 out of 5
by Sharon

Last minute booking

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
A very comfortable and clean hotel, which was booked last minute. Would use it again and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anybody.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A very tired hotel.

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Location for my meeting in Theale. Price was reasonable, and despite location hotel was quiet.
Cons: Updating the facilities.
Location: Did not venture out
I chose the hotel as I was a late check in and had to be close to my meeting next morning. Parking was a nightmare, I felt I was the only person without a works van or shabby run around. The back of the hotel is a building site, where I eventually squeezed into park. The staff were polite and courteous, although the room was tired it was clean and functional. Overall a reasonable stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Tired appearance. Plumbing awful Luke warm water.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Plumbing. Open ramp door instead of lugging suitcase up steps. Don't have smoking right outside the lobby door.
Location: Walking distance to town - about 2m. Close to park.
Lobby smelled of smokers. Plumbing needed several flushings and shower never better lukewarm. Nice location and convenient for my needs. Will look for others in the area next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice.clean but needs sound proofing.

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
Nice stay. The hotel has a feel of a premier Inn about it... my only compliant is the sound proofing. ..I could hear everything in the next rooms and my room was above the dining room and like it or not you are waking up when they start moving tables and chairs (approx 6.15am) I would go back but ask for a room not above the dining room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok for a short stay

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Hear a lot of traffic at front other than that ok for a short stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Hard to find

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: The lift worked well. The kitchen was well provided with appliances & a decent settee for relaxing while watching the TV. .
Cons: The road signage was overgrown with insufficient car parking bays. There was not a disabled toilet facility.