Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

When a hotel is going out of business...

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: The drinks at the bar were very relaxing. The hotel was easy to find, and the parking was very accessible.
Cons: The worst part about this hotel experience was the customer service offered. I finally understood the morale of the employees when I learned they would soon lose employment due to the hotel closing. Not quite the acceptable excuse for a traveler to hear, but I understood better. The hotel was also in need of much TLC, but again, it will be totally gutted and converted into apartment in a matter of days, so I understand. Along with the poor customer service, I dealt with leaking bathroom plumbing, shower head spraying everywhere, and torn carpet. Needless to say, this was a far cry from the historical hotel experience I was expecting and I definitely would not stay again.
Location: Not much to do in this City.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and Close to Santander Arena,

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Arrived a few hours after check-in time to a street festival normal access to the hotel was impeded due to the event. A call from the hotel or some signs would have been nice wince we were coming from out of town. Check-in took about 20 minutes due to the front desk being unable to find my reservation even after handing my cell phone with the Expedia itinerary, and then became even more difficult when I had to pull up my billing statement to show that actually paid for 2 rooms and not 1. Finally after the front desk supervisor figured out they spelled my name wrong and did not have it filed alphabetically we were able to get checked in. Overall I found the staff service to be sub par at best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yonkers, NY

Nice and friendly hotel.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
This was my second time staying there everyone was friendly and helpful. Look forward to staying again when I come in town. Love the scenery inside as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Class Reunion

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: the Pub
Cons: remodel the rooms quickly and add breakfast service.
Hotel is date. I would have expect a better breakfast in the morning that I would have been okay to pay extra for. I know there are plans to remodel the rooms, but I don't think I'll be returning. The pub on the second floor was really neat and out of the era of prohibition.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night at the Abe Lincoln

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Parking is free and the continental breakfast was pretty good. There was a variety of options (eggs, potatoes, tea, coffee, pastries, cereal, etc.)
Cons: I think changing the carpet would help with the feel of the room along with making sure all the wallpaper is intact.
I was a bit disappointed about my stay at The Abraham Lincoln. The wallpaper in our room was coming off under the window, the TV had terrible resolution, and there were two holes in the wall right behind the bed (by the headboard). The tub was small and the faucet dripped when I turned the shower head on. I only stayed here 1 night with my boyfriend so it was okay but I expected more from a historic hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quite Downtown Reading

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: I did not hear any noise at all during the night and or day, also the bathrrom was huge.
Cons: the parking lot needs a bit more of patching up. Whomever does the computer reservation needs to read the paper reservations.
Location: As my nephew and I where visiting family members it was a 10 min drive and I was able to find a few barber shops and spanish stores within two blocks.
Check in was amazing, although the room we had been promised had been given away (we went from two queens size beds to two full) and were up in a handicapped room, which was better since no bat tub (love walk in showers). the room was cool and had a mini fridge, coffee machine and microwave and two cold bottles of water (nice touch). The parking lot I understand is still a work in progress but coming down the stairs there was a huge hole that although covered with a plate someone could still get hurt. My only problem and the reason it did not reason a 5 was on our first full day the head of maintenance was insisting that our room was only for one night and that we needed to check out so they could clean the room for the next guest. As much as I stated that we had reserved the room for 2 nights she was not hearing it and was a bit more then rude. The mgmt acknowleged their mistake an that was the end of that problem. The night staff was much friendlier than the day staff. loved the lobby and the idea that you where stepping into the 30's. A bit of dusting would have been perfect but all in all i would stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Historic significance with crappy employment

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: It's location to the downtown area!
Cons: Less expensive meals at the Abe Restaurant.
Location: N/A
I was not impressed with the "holier than though" attitude of the staff at the desk. Just because your hotel is on the registered list of historic hotels in the US does not make your hotel great, the people do. Unfortunately the people there "stunk".
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Stay

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Pros: OK
Cons: Construction
Location: Very close to venue
It was just fine! We enjoyed our stay, 2nd time we stayed here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Was fine beds were comfortable and bedding was nice. Room some what cool. No vending or ice on the 14th floor. Had to wait extra 40 mins for continental breakfast to be put together. Seemed short on staff. But over all it was a pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Walking distance to the arena!

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Staff unprofessional, courtesy breakfast was nonexistent, room service nonexistent, hotel restaurant/bar was advertised to be a great place to go after leaving the arena but supposedly closed at 8pm when site claims to be open til 11pm. (In our stay we never saw restaurant bar open at ANY time)