Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent location, clean and spacious apartment

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Space, comfortable beds.
Cons: Check in information and kitchen equipment.
Check in a little confusing. Initially advised booking had been cancelled, computer system down. Directions given to car park but no advice or help on where to park or enter building. Entrance key wouldn't open door at first (you can't see the green light with the sun shining on it!) Apartment very clean and spacious. We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment and allowed to check in an hour early. Beds extremely comfortable. Fan provided was very useful as quite warm even with windows and balcony door open. Shower rooms only had overhead showers but otherwise good. Kitchen a bit under equipped - 1 mug and 3 cups for a 2 bedrooms apartment. Kettle had a loose wire and would turn itself on if you moved it - was reported but nobody came to fix it. Only 2 teabags and no sugar - I am sure the staff would have been more than happy to sort out but we were in a hurry. Couldn't get a news channel on the television - again we didn't look into this as we didn't have time but would think this would be a basic. We booked this apartment nearly a year previously and got a very reasonable rate - I'm not sure I would have been quite so happy if we had paid full price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swansea

Excellent Hotel.

Posted Aug 18, 2017
From the moment you step into the hotel you can feel the quality. Staff are excellent, rooms are very comfortable and have everything you could possibly need. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever experienced in a hotel. I have to give the Forebury in Reading 5 Stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
I stayed for one night having stayed another time before. Once again all the staff were great,the room was fantastic, I had a junior suite and it was luxury. The bathrooms in this hotel are very luxurious too, walk in showers and also a deep bathtub. The in room entertainment system is great with a decent selection of films to choose from. All the little things on top of that make it a great place. I have stayed at a few hotels in Reading and this is my favourite.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but very dated

Posted Jul 8, 2017
We stayed for one night at the Forbury so we could be bright and early to attend daughters graduation ceremony. Hotel was is a great location right next to Carluccios and a couple of minutes from the Oracle. It's a great looking building from the front too - and from the courtyard. Lovely architecture. The staff were great but as for being 5 star, well it might have been once upon a time. We stayed in one of the apartments which was huge and there were only the two of us. Two bedrooms with ensuites and a separate cloakroom. It also had a huge lounge and kitchen - though we couldn't fathom out how to get a picture on the TV!! Think that may have been user error!!! Rooms were good and sort of clean but carpets were badly marked in places making them look dirty and tiles in bathroom were stained. The area by the lifts as well as the lifts themselves could probably benefit from a refurb. Kitchen was pretty spotless. We had to walk from reception to the apartments which were at the back and we went down a staircase by the kitchen where the carpet looked like something Mum had in her house in the 70's and while nothing wrong with a bit of retro it did have a bit of a bad foody sort of smell as you walked there. It did lead to a lovely courtyard garden. Shame but we never had time to try it out. I'd stay there again but if you are looking for 5 star this maybe isn't the one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff and lovely hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: The staff were great, so helpful. Even gave me a free drink as my room was not quite ready when I checked in a bit too soon.
Cons: Some complimentary water bottles and some milk for tea would have been nice
Location: Right opposite some nice gardens and in a very peaceful area a minute away from all the shops and restaurants and so on.
I only stayed for one night. I checked in but room was not quite ready so the staff gave me a free drink. It was not a problem I just wanted to drop a bag off before I went somewhere but no point turning down a freebie! The staff were really lovely, easy to chat to and so helpful. The room was stunning, unfortunately I am not a drinker because that mini bar looked very inviting!! Still, I helped myself to a Nespresso from the machine in the room instead, what a great added touch. DVDs or Music to watch in the room, some books supplied to read. I have stayed in a few hotels in Reading lately and so far this one tops them all. Oh yes, nearly forgot to mention the walk in shower in the bathroom what a difference to another hotel I wont mention where the showers were more like a portable jungle shower you barely got a drip and it was a 4 star hotel!!!!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Adrian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Good location

Posted May 13, 2017
Walking distance to 2 malls, train station, many restaurants, casino, movie house, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel but the staff can let it down

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Superb hotel with great rooms.
Cons: The early morning / night staff who man the front desk / open and close the front door. See above.
Location: Great for inner city Reading. Close to shops.
I love this hotel. I have stayed here at least 8 times over the past 2 years (a week at a time), and the hotel's facilities, conditions, rooms etc are always superb. The only thing that consistently lets the hotel down is the front of house staff, and by this I specifically mean the guys that are on early morning /evening (the day time reception staff are always extremely helpful). They may be standing around, but they have NEVER helped me with bags up / down the front steps. In fact on more than one occassion they have watched me try to carry up my bags from the street, peering out the window at me. This is my first review I have ever written, and am only doing so now having checked out once again early last Friday morning for my latest visit. Two staff (men) were on the front desk early morning, but neither helped me with my 3 bags, even when i called out asking them if they could help as I left. Instead the American guest who had just checked out, ran back up to steps to help me while the 2 front / door staff sat at the reception desk chatting amongst themselves. This may seem minor, and in the grand scheme of things it is. But I am only now writing after realising that this happens EVER SINGLE TIME. Just not good enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet hotel with excellent staff!

Posted Apr 30, 2017
6 of us stayed in the apartments (we stayed in two of them) and we had great time. Close to the rail station. Would recommend!