Ratings based on 179 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Not much to say other then every helpful staff and great rooms. I’ll go again, well I’ll have to anyways as my friend is getting married and booking this for 2 nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent location, clean and spacious apartment

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Space, comfortable beds.
Cons: Check in information and kitchen equipment.
Check in a little confusing. Initially advised booking had been cancelled, computer system down. Directions given to car park but no advice or help on where to park or enter building. Entrance key wouldn't open door at first (you can't see the green light with the sun shining on it!) Apartment very clean and spacious. We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment and allowed to check in an hour early. Beds extremely comfortable. Fan provided was very useful as quite warm even with windows and balcony door open. Shower rooms only had overhead showers but otherwise good. Kitchen a bit under equipped - 1 mug and 3 cups for a 2 bedrooms apartment. Kettle had a loose wire and would turn itself on if you moved it - was reported but nobody came to fix it. Only 2 teabags and no sugar - I am sure the staff would have been more than happy to sort out but we were in a hurry. Couldn't get a news channel on the television - again we didn't look into this as we didn't have time but would think this would be a basic. We booked this apartment nearly a year previously and got a very reasonable rate - I'm not sure I would have been quite so happy if we had paid full price.
3 out of 5
by l

Great staff but poor rooms.

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Hotels
Staff were great on arrival and dealt with room problems well but a shame about the rooms. I moved rooms twice....third time lucky room was ok but was too warm to sleep, so no sleep! Won't stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swansea

Excellent Hotel.

Posted Aug 18, 2017
From the moment you step into the hotel you can feel the quality. Staff are excellent, rooms are very comfortable and have everything you could possibly need. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever experienced in a hotel. I have to give the Forebury in Reading 5 Stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
I stayed for one night having stayed another time before. Once again all the staff were great,the room was fantastic, I had a junior suite and it was luxury. The bathrooms in this hotel are very luxurious too, walk in showers and also a deep bathtub. The in room entertainment system is great with a decent selection of films to choose from. All the little things on top of that make it a great place. I have stayed at a few hotels in Reading and this is my favourite.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but very dated

Posted Jul 8, 2017
We stayed for one night at the Forbury so we could be bright and early to attend daughters graduation ceremony. Hotel was is a great location right next to Carluccios and a couple of minutes from the Oracle. It's a great looking building from the front too - and from the courtyard. Lovely architecture. The staff were great but as for being 5 star, well it might have been once upon a time. We stayed in one of the apartments which was huge and there were only the two of us. Two bedrooms with ensuites and a separate cloakroom. It also had a huge lounge and kitchen - though we couldn't fathom out how to get a picture on the TV!! Think that may have been user error!!! Rooms were good and sort of clean but carpets were badly marked in places making them look dirty and tiles in bathroom were stained. The area by the lifts as well as the lifts themselves could probably benefit from a refurb. Kitchen was pretty spotless. We had to walk from reception to the apartments which were at the back and we went down a staircase by the kitchen where the carpet looked like something Mum had in her house in the 70's and while nothing wrong with a bit of retro it did have a bit of a bad foody sort of smell as you walked there. It did lead to a lovely courtyard garden. Shame but we never had time to try it out. I'd stay there again but if you are looking for 5 star this maybe isn't the one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff and lovely hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: The staff were great, so helpful. Even gave me a free drink as my room was not quite ready when I checked in a bit too soon.
Cons: Some complimentary water bottles and some milk for tea would have been nice
Location: Right opposite some nice gardens and in a very peaceful area a minute away from all the shops and restaurants and so on.
I only stayed for one night. I checked in but room was not quite ready so the staff gave me a free drink. It was not a problem I just wanted to drop a bag off before I went somewhere but no point turning down a freebie! The staff were really lovely, easy to chat to and so helpful. The room was stunning, unfortunately I am not a drinker because that mini bar looked very inviting!! Still, I helped myself to a Nespresso from the machine in the room instead, what a great added touch. DVDs or Music to watch in the room, some books supplied to read. I have stayed in a few hotels in Reading lately and so far this one tops them all. Oh yes, nearly forgot to mention the walk in shower in the bathroom what a difference to another hotel I wont mention where the showers were more like a portable jungle shower you barely got a drip and it was a 4 star hotel!!!!!!
5 out of 5
by Tim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 28, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Ian

A hot hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
Do not stay here if the temperature is over 20 degrees as the hotel is very hit and has no cooling other than to give you a fan in your room. Such a shame because it looks like a nice hotel and portable air co units are fairly standard now if they don't want to fit built in air con.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels