Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
45% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Hotel ok, nice town location

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Booked hotel as was attending a party locally. Very friendly and helpful on arrival, I believe it was the owner. I don’t think they’ve owned it long, so hopefully they will invest as it needs some tender loving care. Rooms ok, but some lights didn’t work, but was clean and tidy
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hereford

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Updating in general very date
The hotel is out dated and was very disappointing. I would not stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Location: Right next to a freight train line - so not exactly quiet
This is a pub with rooms and unfortunately not what was advertised - the shower didn't work and the room did not feel that clean :(
1 out of 5
by G F from london

Worst hotel I've ever been

Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Hotels
They are next to the train tracks, so expect your room to literally move every 10 minutes when a train passes by. I didn't get a single decent night sleep in the 5 days I was there. Apart from the trains there's a lot of noise: wood floor under carpet makes noise, so you will even notice when the person next to your room is moving... you can hear everything from rooms around, and the beds are not very comfortable. If you expect room service, forget about it. They have a pub on the ground floor to provide food, but the reception at the hotel and the pub close quite early depending on the day. The rooms are dated and uncomfortable, and the bathrooms are not very clean...
5 out of 5
by Bronwyn from bedford

amazing place to stay

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
our stay was absolutely brilliant. the room was great and the beds were so comfy. the staff were amazing anything we needed all we had to do was ask like pillows and they would go and get it straight away. the area around the hotel s wonderful everyone is so friendly and the actual building is beautiful. the room was very clean and the facilities were great, the shower gave us hot water almost instantly. overall our experience at the George hotel was amazing and i recommend it as a place to stay.
3 out of 5
by Richard from Corby

Made me pay double

Posted Sep 5, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel, nice rooms, nice bar and restaurant. But I was made to pay double my hotel fee as the receptionist claimed it wasn't pre paid when it was. Still waiting for a refund 2 weeks later
3 out of 5
by Bernice

Posted Aug 28, 2015 on Hotels
Very short stay - late night arrival. Glad it was pet friendly! Specially provided a continental breakfast rather than a cooked one. Nice and central - trains running nearby but did not bother us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Over-Priced Hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: location, lovely village
£94 was a ridiculous price. Run down, unfriendly, uncomfortable
3 out of 5
by Marcus from Kings lynn

Noisy

Posted Jul 6, 2015 on Hotels
Trains too noisy and run most of the night. Hotel itself was pleasant though.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from York

West coast main trainline about

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Paid £105 for my room which was small, basic, just been painted that day (by the smell of it) and about 10m from the West coast mainline, trains were constant to about 1.30am and the first one was at 4.57, curtains were paper thin. I will not be using this hotel again....