Ratings based on 206 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Praia de Pipa, Brazil

Atlante Plaze Hotel - Recife, Brazil

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Rooms were very clean and spacious
Cons: They need to "unthrottle" the air conditioning as they have it set where it cannot be adjusted below 26/27 degrees Celsius (79 degrees F).
I made our reservations for 04/06/17 and found the staff to be helpful and the room was very good. However, when you are in Recife in the month of April you can and will find it to be very hot. I would expect that the rooms would have sufficient air conditioning to ensure that guest are cool and comfortable. Our room had 2 large air conditioners and I discovered that I could not adjust the temperature below 26 degrees Celsius (on either unit)........that would be nearly 79 degrees. I called maintenance twice and had 2 different techs and both turned off the air conditioners, turned them back on and then informed me that it was fixed and that I could now adjust the temperature to my desired 22 degrees Celsius. They only told me what I wanted to hear as I was unable to adjust the temperature lower than 26/27 degrees Celsius. I informed the front desk and they only said that they were sorry. The point here is that the air conditioning is "throttled" and can not be set lower than what I stated here. So if your looking for a cool place to park while in Recife I would not recommend the Atlante Plaze Hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando,FL

Good Location, disappointing service

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast, Valet Parking
Location: No restaurant around
I stayed at this hotel for the New Years, I stayed for 6 nights... The Hotel is a perfect location, Front desk very helpful, staff friendly. I was very disappointing with the Valet parking services, which took over one hour, yes 1 hour to bring my car around...They don't have any logistics for parking and the valet parking wasn't friendly. The breakfast was good, but they close at 10am, majority of the time I was there around 9:20am and the table was with a lot of things already done, and they didn't had any replacement for those items that was gone. I asked the server about some basics stuff, bread, milk, juice, cakes and they said for those items they didn't had anymore. I paid about $ 150.00 dollars a night, but for Brazil is about $ 600.00 a night which is a lot of money for that country, I was expecting a much better service. Anyways I liked the location but unfortunately I would not recommend this hotel for those facts. If management wants to contact myself my email is on the hotel file and I was on the room 810.
5 out of 5
by ria from Trinidad

loved it !

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
had a great stay . very good hotel .
4 out of 5
by Oziris de from São Paulo

Just ok

Posted Jun 4, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is just ok by the price they charge. Housekeeping has some faults like forget to leave towels. The staff is polite although they do not demonstrate any additional effort to make your stay a better experience. They are just plain. Good location
5 out of 5
by Gary from Chicago

The Perfect Location !

Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
Premier location. Local Market with great shopping/food. Excellent prices ! Currency Exchange only a few blocks away.
5 out of 5
by Chetan from India

Happy stay

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is at very convenient location from city , airport , beach and shopping mall. Very neat and clean area and also safe. Service was good at hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Europe

Mediocre management

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Pros: The staff was very courteous
Cons: Change the management of the hotel, change the regional management as well. If the regional management is not aware of the hotel conditions, change it
In short, hotel is overrated. a. No functional beach in front or near the hotel b. Furniture is old. No investments in the last ten years c. Very poor internet speed d. In the lobby, the toilets did not function properly (one did not lock for privacy, the other did not flush) e. Of the nine days I stayed at this hotel, the swimming pool was closed for maintenance. I paid for a hotel with a functioning pool f. When I spoke with the hotel manager, she claimed that it is a five star hotel. My call... maybe a three at best. g. The towels were old, worn out In conclusion, all that is happening in this hotel (Mercure Atlantic - Boa Viagem) is a reflection on the mediocre management at the local level. I happen to lead a multinational of more than six thousand employees. I do know that by accepting this management performance at the local level is a reflection on the Executive Management of the Accor Hotels group. My conclusion? You could do a lot better for the same money.
4 out of 5
by Anders from London

Best Breakfast Buffet

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
The Grand Mecure Recife was a good choice of hotels, the building itself is a little tired and the pool area was not as nice as I was expecting. However, the staff are excellent and the breakfast buffet was the best I had in Brazil. The proper coffee machine was a blessing! Overall we were very happy with our stay here. A small makeover on some of the the hotels aesthetics and it would be top notch!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Good Location!

Posted Mar 2, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: The beach is in front of the Hotel.
Next to the beach, malls and the city attractions! Staffs are helpful and the breakfast was amazing.