Ratings based on 255 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel. One of my favorites in the world.

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Stayed there the past five years. Always one of the high points of the trip. First class operation and beautiful property.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Alvear Palace Hotel. We are convinced that our guests´ satisfaction is our most important value; we continuously strive to make their stay at The Alvear Palace Hotel an unforgettable Experience. The Alvear Palace Hotel feels very grateful for your opinion and our staff is looking forward to welcome you once more as our guest many other times in the future. Sincerely, Luciano Aftarczuk Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Very expensive

Posted May 10, 2017
Hotel is in a great locatio and the public areas are very nice and upgraded. The rooms seem 15 years older than lobby. Bathrooms are more updated than the rooms themselves. For the money, I would have expected more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Alvear Palace Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Alvear Palace Hotel. We are convinced that our guests´ satisfaction is our most important goal; we continuously strive to make their stay at The Alvear Palace Hotel an unforgettable Experience. We feels very grateful for your opinion and our staff is looking forward to welcome you once more as our guest many other times in the future. Sincerely, Luciano Aftarczuk Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from State College, PA

Grand Hotel, grand experience

Posted Apr 23, 2017
This is a classic grand hotel. Beautiful in every detail. Incredible service.Our junior suite was large with plenty of light. Great location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Alvear Palace not the Ritz/Four Seasons

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
Service at breakfast was poor and buffet was below the standard of this type of hotel. No one doing any customized eggs/omelettes. Concierge was helpful and location was great. Skip room service as the food was very poor.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxurious Hotel but Service Needs Improvement

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is luxurious and well maintained. Unfortunately the internet was not reliable and often times limited. The staff insisted on speaking English even though I speak Spanish and the service in the breakfast restaurant was slow and sometimes rude.
5 out of 5
by Nigel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

One of the best anywhere

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: The dedication of the staff to personal, friendly, professional service; the location; the decor; the amenities. Everything is absolutely top flight.
Cons: More food items on the bar menu. Seriously, that's all I've got for improvement, and that's a quibble.
Location: The Recoleta is the older of the higher end neighborhoods. High end stores abound. The Recoleta cemetery is right there.
I last stayed at the Alvear Palace in 2004. It was memorable. I hoped it would be that good today. It was better. They've added a spa and a fitness center and moved the pool to the roof. Their included breakfast is famous and properly so. Their brunch on Sunday was remarkable. The entire staff is incredibly service oriented. When you post a sign saying please clean my room, less than an hour later it is completely cleaned. I missed turn down service because I was in the room later one day. They left a note saying 'call at any time' for turn down. I didn't. I went out in the evening and when I returned they had turned down my room. The food is good. The setting is quite grand. Through Expedia I actually was notified that the rate had gone down. I upgraded to a junior suite for less money. The concierges booked shows, recommended wonderful restaurants and made arrangements for a private guided tour. This hotel remains one of the best I have stayed at anywhere in the world. Think the St. Regis, but Latin.
5 out of 5
by Sallyann

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Stuart

The TOP Buenos Aires hotel!

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
It is a great experience to stay at this wonderful hotel, with its charm, location, service of staff, luxury, if your budget can stretch that far. Their breakfast room was a refreshing start to the day and indulging in Afternoon High Tea another highlight. If booking through Hotels.com it is worth checking out the room they allocate you on arrival, before accepting same, so you are not disappointed.