Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

European Tour

Posted Mar 16, 2018
Pros: Everything
Location: Perfect location if you want to get the ferry or chunnel back to the UK, but we would cross from the UK and stop here overnight.
We have just completed a 12 day road trip around Europe and the Hotel was excellent and extremely good location. The is a small town near by, the food was expensive, but not out of context with other hotels of this standard we visited during our 12 day. Staff were very helpful.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge UK

Convenient hotel for the channel tunnel

Posted Nov 12, 2017
A pleasant stay in this well appointed hotel. Our room was a little tired but was clean and comfortable. It was unfortunate that the toilet seat was broken as first use caused some problems! The restaurant was very good both for the evening meal and breakfast.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abbotsford

A few days in the country

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Very quite. Lovely grounds. Dinner spectacular
Cons: The rooms need some updating.
Location: Not much to do in the immediate area. About a half hour drive to Calais and Dunkirk
Cocove was a last minute addition to our itinerary. What a lovely spot in the country. If you go, you must eat dinner there. The food is outstanding.
4 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed return visit

Posted Oct 6, 2017 on Hotels
Booked to stay for night before early morning ferry from Calais. Stayed a couple of years ago, and had thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Extremely disappointed with our return visit. Checked in, shown to room at top of stairway, noisy with people on way to their rooms further down the corridor. Very comfortable bed, but room & bathroom not very clean. Reserved a table for dinner, at 7.30, bar man, flitted between bar and restaurant, so slow service. After 20 mins, we were finally given menus, as orders are taken before you sit in restaurant. We were called through, by waitress who instead of showing us to table, disappeared into kitchen. After few minutes barman, said we could sit anywhere. Starters arrived 15 minutes later. Waitress coughed into her hand, wiped hand on shirt, then proceeded to bring out food, without washing her hands!! Food was delicious, so compliments to chef. It is not cheap to stay overnight, given the poor staffing levels, we will not return!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Oct 1, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel in a beautiful setting and close to Calais
5 out of 5
by Aaron

Great overnight stop

Posted Sep 23, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed at Chateau Cocove as the final stop on a European driving holiday. It was very comfortable and quiet, so perfect for the overnight stay. The staff are friendly and dinner in the restaurant was very good. The wine list is impressive too!
5 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Coleford, UK

Chateau Calme.....

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Everything.....
Location: Great location, near to the channel tunnel...
The Chateau Cocove is a beautiful hotel and a fabulous find on our last trip to France. It is located only a short drive from the channel tunnel and whether using it as a stopover enroute between France and the UK or for a french weekend away it is perfect. The setting and decor is all very 'chateau', the staff are friendly and the food is exceptional, either the restaurant for a special dinner or the quaint buffet breakfast (with great coffee!). The calm ambience that embraces the chateau and it's grounds is only interrupted by the comical chickens and cockerels that strut around the lawns and car parks. We will be back, I'm sure....
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Peaceful chateau close to Calais

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Great restaurant in a lovely hotel with beautiful grounds
Cons: A separate and more secluded eating area for families with small children who have not yet learned to behave at meals.
Location: 40 minutes from Calais and a great first stop.
This chateau is set in its own grounds and is a wonderfully peaceful start to a holiday. The rooms are a good size and comfortable. There is even a kettle which appears to be relatively rare in French hotels. The restaurant was fabulous and booking is recommended as it was full on Saturday night. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We've stayed in this hotel on previous occasions and it is getting better and better.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Delightful hotel close to the coast

Posted Aug 23, 2017
A splendid stay convenient for the ferry and a fabulous evening meal in the restaurant.