Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
29% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Feels like you are at home.

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Excellent hotel, no complaints. The staff really cares about the customers. I’ll be back again!
4 out of 5
by Adrian

Nice Beach Hotel.

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
This was my second stay at this hotel. The rooms are big and close to the beach and town. The restaurant is fine. The hotel does not have any sort of gym facilities but does have a small lap pool and saunas on the roof. Last trip, I had no issues at all but this time, the shower never quite reached "hot" and the wi-fi was spotty. These weren't issues on my last stay so it may be room dependent. The neighborhood seems generally safe (relative to other parts of Rio) and there are many restaurants, services, and shopping a short distance away on Avenida des Americas. I'll stay here again but be more vocal if the shower and wi-fi aren't meeting expectations as I do believe it was just the room this time.
4 out of 5
by martha julieta from chicago

The hotel is located in a very relax area of Rio.

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
It could be better if all the personnel on the desk speak more than Portuguese.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value and an oasis next to the beach.

Posted Dec 28, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is really a good value. The rooms are nice sized and conveniently appointed (large fridge, shelves, closet, room for two open suitcases, good floor space). Beds are very firm, but everything very clean with no "tropical/musty smell" which can be common in many beach hotels. The rooftop pool and enclosed seating area is especially nice and an amazing surprise for a hotel in this price range. The views, tables with umbrellas, indoor area, constant breeze and reasonably priced bar make a great combination. The only problem is that surrounding area is not very nice. The hotel itself feels like a safe oasis at the far end of Barra. The beach across the street is quite beautiful and if you have a car, you have lots of options to go find nice places to eat. The free, walled in parking lot is included so this is a great hotel if you are traveling with a rental car. Dining choices within walking distance are extremely limited and are not very inviting as the surrounding neighborhoods struck us as dirty and run down. A nice breakfast buffet is included, and the hotel restaurant made for nice, easy, safe and convenient place to dine for other meals. However, for an extended stay, it would be nice to be able to walk around and have more choices. I found the staff very pleasant and fluent in English which made things very easy given my limited Portuguese.
5 out of 5
by Benjamin from wiconsin

hotel antlantico!!

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel room and view were excellent. Especially for the price. 110 a night total. Ocean view was excellent. The staff was very helpful. The breakfast was better than I expected. I would highly recommend. It's not as touristy as copa cabana but it's safer here and you can travel to other beaches if you want.
3 out of 5
by Andria from Toronto, Ontario

a nice hotel but got food poisioning

Posted Jan 17, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is clean & nice and the staff is friendly & some of them speak English. It's also in a great location directly across from a beach in the West Zone of Rio & close to Prainha beach, however this area is a 1hr drive from the Rio airport & 30 min drive from Ipanema area. My only complaint is that my cousin & got food poisoning from this hotel and they refused to admit it. They insisted it was a "virus" that was going around Rio, despite the fact that my cousin and I ate the same thing at the hotel restaurant & had the same symptoms starting & lasting the same time. If you're English speaking I'd highly recommend using the hotel's executive taxi driver Guillianno. He's fantastic and offers a very fair price, as many locals will try to rip you off if you're a tourist and don't speak the language.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from valença

Tudo ótimo

Posted Mar 19, 2018
Ótima localização,equipe atenciosa,café da manhã otimo,enfim tudo foi maravilhoso
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rio de Janeiro RJ

Bom hotel, mas deixou a desejar.

Posted Mar 18, 2018
Apesar de ser um bom hotel, alguns funcionários são ignorantes, café da manhã fraco (além do croissant com cabelo empregado na massa) e com atendimento péssimo; a cama queen eram dois colchões que deixavam um vão no meio da cama, pra lá de desconfortável. Piscina comprida, mas bem estreita.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rio de Janeiro

Cheiro de mofo, cama péssima, e umidade no teto.

Posted Mar 4, 2018
Pros: Nada
Location: Praia sem possibilidade de uso, pela frequencia e pela sujeira.
Café da manhã péssimo. Pão velho, poucas opções de pães, de frios, geléias, e sucos.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bahía Blanca

Impecable todo!!!

Posted Jan 25, 2018
Todo excelente!!! Personal, instalaciones, servicios, cercanía de la playa, restaurante, limpieza, atención... todo 10 puntos!! Volvería siempre al Atlántico Sur Hotel.