Ratings based on 269 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Annapolis, MD

Consistent, comfortable and clean accommodations.

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Location: Conveniently located to major highways and the Garden State Parkway. Not far from the beach and many shopping and dining locations.
Eatontown is my hometown and I came for one night to meet up with some high school girlfriends for dinner; a mini-reunion! I chose this chain because I know what I can expect and was not disappointed. The folks at the front desk were cheerful and polite. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. This may seem extremely picky, but my only criticism was the fact that the toilet paper holder was installed under the sink and so far from reach that I had to take the roll off and set it on the sink counter. Overall, a most pleasant stay, and the cookies (I got TWO!) were awesome!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for the outstanding review! We are thrilled that you had a wonderful stay, and we hope you choose to stay with us again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Accommodations a Level Above The Rest

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Convenient location right off the Garden State Parkway; removed from the busy roads it sits on to be quiet. Clean and high quality interior as expecte
Cons: I found this Double Tree room the tiniest bit "tired" as compared to the one here in Olympia, WA, which is stunningly excellent.
Location: Having lived in the area, I can tell you there is lots to do. Check out downtown Red Bank; the beaches in Long Branch and downtown Asbury Park
Double Tree by Hilton Hotels are my first choice for personal and business travel. The are the best bet in a more moderate price range. This particular property was just about as good as I expected. There just a few tiny details that I found a bit disappointing: like the lamp on the left bedside night stand that didn't work; and all the outlets in the lamp bases on the nightstands and desk were very loose and barely held my phone, computer and tablet plugs. They were clearly worn. Also, upon check-in, the front desk person simply took my name and credit card, processed my check-in and said, "Enjoy your stay." No other information that you always get about breakfast, where the elevator is located and other ancillary information. Never had that happen before. Otherwise, the stay and staff were excellent. I found this Double Tree tiniest bit "tired" (at least in the room itself) as compared to the one here in Olympia, WA, which is stunningly excellent. I stayed there recently so I was able to make a detailed comparison in my mind. The Olympia hotel is prefect in every way...they even warm the gourmet chocolate chip cookie they give you upon check-in. Tonton Falls handed me a cold one. Big difference! The Olympia desk people were also the nicest, sweetest people I've ever had a check-in with. Tinton Falls was professional, but not the most welcoming.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: EVERYTHING..
front desk: VICTORIA WAS EXCELLENT !!!!! SHE MADE OUR STAY EVEN MORE ENJOYABLE
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2016 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are thrilled that Victoria and the staff made your stay even more enjoyable. Thank you again, and we hope you choose to stay with us soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Hotels
the only thing the room needed was a microwave. brought food back from a restaurant and could not eat it when I got hungry.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful stay, highly recommended

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Everything and it has a refrigerator if you want to keep some cold items. We ordered a feast from one of the pizzerias and it was all very good.
Location: You are distant yet close to everything from breakfast to restaurants and one night we stayed in and ordered from Attilo's and it was all very good.
It was a wonderful stay, the staff was amazing especially Melissa (manager) and Alexis. It is a bit further from the beach, but close to everything and you can walk to a few restaurants and great for a quick getaway or quiet night. The pool area is very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2016 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear you completely enjoyed your stay, and our outstanding staff provided exceptional service. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
We were in room 136. While the room was clean, it had a terrible smell. A part of the carpet was wet. It is possible that the rug had just been shampooed causing the room to smell very bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear that this was your experience, and we have addressed your comments with management. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and we hope you consider staying with us again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

overall OK place to stay

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
it is an old hotel that has been renovated but till has the smell and feeling of old. The outside pool did look nice but we did not have time to use it. $15 for buffet breakfast is too much, the bagel I did buy there for almost 4 dollars was like a lenders bagel. The staff was nice and friendly the price of $175 was reasonable compared to the other hotels in the area on the same par.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are pleased you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating and enjoyed your accommodations. We greatly appreciate your feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve the customer experience. Thanks again, and we hope you choose to stay with us again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
When we checked in, their systems were down which made check-in a little more annoying. What was even more annoying was that due to the systems being down, the "free wifi" was not working properly either! I feel as if the hotel should have been more aware of this and informed us upon checkin. As for the room, the toilets were messed up and not working properly during our visit. Room lacked a plunger, which required us to call the desk to ask for one. We did order room service for breakfast, which was quick and tasted great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We sincerely apologize for your experience at check-in and that you weren't made aware of the WiFi issues. The front desk representative that checked you in should have let you know. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and the breakfast you ordered through room service. We greatly appreciate your review and feedback, and we hope you choose to stay with us again soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire, UK

Nice hotel however location remote

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Hotel location was fairly remote with only one restaurant (which was very good) with walking distance. Staff friendly, rooms and general areas very clean and tidy. Only draw back the lack of coffee/tea facilities in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by jhalat@hotelsunlimited.com, Hotel Management
Thank you!
4 out of 5
by Peter from Babylon NY

Met most expectations

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
It was a small anniversary gift to ourselves. We both like horse racing and theater. Both were within 10 minutes. We leave near ocean beaches, so didn't care about the Jersey shore itself. The hotel was a convenient place to sleep. My only knocks are that, while it had a refrigerator, there was no microwave, and maid service was basically absent. The only time we saw one was when we called the desk and asked for coffee since it hadn't been restocked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you both had a relaxing, enjoyable stay for an anniversary getaway. Though our rooms do not contain microwaves, we have several available upon request. During your next stay, do not hesitate to ask our front desk representatives for one! Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you again soon.