Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Ocean place coastal view

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Our trip has been a beautiful experience. The view and the room the beds were really nice The spa is nice clean and professional I highly recommend going to ocean place for a relaxing vacation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great Location, Great Beach!

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Tiki Bar and bands!
Cons: Bathrooms - very dated!
Location: Great location on the ocean and the boardwalk - close to all the restaurants and shops
I read all of the reviews prior to our visit and was worried we were gonna have a really bad experience. The problem being that there are no other hotels in the area on the beach, so we went ahead anyway, albeit with lowered expectations. Much to our suprise the OCEAN PLACE wasn't too bad at all. The staff were very friendly from the time we checked in to the time we checked out. Our room, which was on the 5th floor, where they had permitted smoking AND pets at one time, was clean and odor free. It was clearly dated but nice nevertheless. The tiki bar, the restaurants, the lounging area by the boardwalk were beautiful. The only real problem we had were the guests! Rude NY/NJ'ers who treated the staff and those around them like crap. As they say - the worst thing about NY/NJ is it's full of New Yorkers/New Jerseyites. Lastly, the beach chairs and umbrellas were brand new and very comfortable! I would recommend this place to anyone - provided they realize it's still a work in progress. I'm looking forward to seeing the whole place re-done....it'll be my new favorite place north of MD.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Staff was all great. The building is tired

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The friendly staff
Cons: They painted over everything to save money on upkeep.
Every staff member we interacted with was great. The building was older and you could see where they saved money in maintaining the large facility. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 6, 2016
The hotel was clean and quiet and the staff was pleasurable. It was a very enjoyable stay and will definitely be returning
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Room overlooked pool with no cover and dirty water

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: On the beach and boardwalk
Cons: Cover the pool
Location: Turning point for breakfast Angelica's for dinner (10 min ride).
Nice location Adequate rooms Nice staff Easy parking...use garage
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from denver co

Nice side beach view. Patio small.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Very small patio where you are sitting staring at the concrete wall cause the wall is too high. Room temperature locked so you can't adjust it. Sink and shower drains very slow. Lobby far better looking than the room. Room and hallways not as updated as the lobby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Nice place. Need to be cleaner. A lot of sand and watermarks from beach throughout
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I love this property!!! Beach luxury

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Welcome/reception staff, rooms, lobby, gym, pools, beach
Cons: Cleanliness of public areas. What happened to the included breakfasts, its now $20? There was also was more of a selection in May when it was free.
Location: Amazing location! right on beach and next to Pier Village
Great hotel, staff, location, and experience. I love this hotel! it is right on the beach has 2 pools, full gym, billiards, large size chess/checkers, bars, restaurants, and even a Tiki Bar. This is my 2nd stay - i will stay again. However, in May it was a sparkling jewel - where as in August it was a dirty and cloudy jewel. I would recommend that the hotel make sure to staff, schedule and coordinate for better cleanliness of the property. The windows in the hallways were filthy, the elevators were filthy, the brass was a mess (also you needed a sharp tool to dig into the dust in the elevators - when was the last time you cleaned them?) -- The lobby windows in the rear of the Seaview Restaurant are dirty and cloudy you can barely see out of them.This property needs multiple x a day cleaning given that they are 100% booked each Summer day. Managers should be reevaluated. This is not a lone comment, every trip i took on the elevators, someone initiated a conversation about why is the place so dirty given the prices. Please improve. I loved you in May.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location and wonderful staff

Posted Aug 24, 2016
The location was perfect, right on the beach. But the best part of this resort was the staff. Always friendly, polite and they went out of their way to make your stay the best it could be.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but needs better security

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Expedia
Cons: Security
Location: Nothing really to do in walking distance accept Pier Village. Pier Village very nice and great restaurants and some specialty shops.
Hotel location was great, area is wonderful and very relaxing. Bellmen and housekeeping staff were great. Security needs improved however. People who were not guests of hotel were able to ride elevator to rooms, hang out and swim at the hotel pool, take advantage of amenities at hotel's "private beach" area. I personally had issues regarding lack of security. I reported to the front desk and their response was "they need to get in wrists bands for hotel guests."