Ratings based on 249 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Ocean place coastal view

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Our trip has been a beautiful experience. The view and the room the beds were really nice The spa is nice clean and professional I highly recommend going to ocean place for a relaxing vacation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great Location, Great Beach!

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Tiki Bar and bands!
Cons: Bathrooms - very dated!
Location: Great location on the ocean and the boardwalk - close to all the restaurants and shops
I read all of the reviews prior to our visit and was worried we were gonna have a really bad experience. The problem being that there are no other hotels in the area on the beach, so we went ahead anyway, albeit with lowered expectations. Much to our suprise the OCEAN PLACE wasn't too bad at all. The staff were very friendly from the time we checked in to the time we checked out. Our room, which was on the 5th floor, where they had permitted smoking AND pets at one time, was clean and odor free. It was clearly dated but nice nevertheless. The tiki bar, the restaurants, the lounging area by the boardwalk were beautiful. The only real problem we had were the guests! Rude NY/NJ'ers who treated the staff and those around them like crap. As they say - the worst thing about NY/NJ is it's full of New Yorkers/New Jerseyites. Lastly, the beach chairs and umbrellas were brand new and very comfortable! I would recommend this place to anyone - provided they realize it's still a work in progress. I'm looking forward to seeing the whole place re-done....it'll be my new favorite place north of MD.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed in room 1208 and the bed was not made properly. there was only a sheet. no blankets, no mattress cover. I was so grossed out. I pulled all the covers up and flipped them over me like a taco so I could sleep. The last time I stayed there the bathroom floor had hair on the ground. Great location, no other choices in the area but cleanliness a problem.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
It was an overnight trip. Location was super beach access was awesome front desk and the restaurant staff was nice. There was a horrible brown stain on the carpet in our room the sink would get clogged
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Far Rockaway, NY

Awesome hotel!

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Orbitz
The front lobby staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was immaculate and luxurious. We booked Oceanview room and it was well worth it - the view and relaxing soynd of crashing waves was exquisite and a rwalot treat. Amenities were great! We'll deserving of a 4- start rating!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff with attitude

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
Room was nice, had a room on the 10th floor with a balcony looking over the Ocean. Beds were very uncomfortable, woke up couple of times, housekeeping woke me up three times before 12 even though I put the do not disturb sign outside! There's was an event going on at the hotel they kicked us out of the lobby!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Staff was all great. The building is tired

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The friendly staff
Cons: They painted over everything to save money on upkeep.
Every staff member we interacted with was great. The building was older and you could see where they saved money in maintaining the large facility. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 6, 2016
The hotel was clean and quiet and the staff was pleasurable. It was a very enjoyable stay and will definitely be returning
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Room overlooked pool with no cover and dirty water

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: On the beach and boardwalk
Cons: Cover the pool
Location: Turning point for breakfast Angelica's for dinner (10 min ride).
Nice location Adequate rooms Nice staff Easy parking...use garage