Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from patchogue, ny

Great location

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Great location and a pretty place. Very ample breakfast. Our room for the price was way to small, a double bed for two adults, two straight back chairs, no tables.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Remodeling, expanding the room and putting a sociable host in charge.
Location: the Beach is nice. Also loved the new Burbelmaiers pie shop on Main St.
Incredibly small and uncomfortable room and especially bathroom. We chose B&B's for their charm and graceful hospitality of the hosts; not mentioning nice breakfasts and even at time a little cocktail hour. This large complex of tiny and super old rooms with unengaged hosts offered no charm or comfort for us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancaster PA

Great location but horrible room

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: update the rooms, not sure a regular bed would fit in room 35 but try, do something about the air conditioner
Location: the ocean is right across the street, the boardwalk is fantastic and is a short walk to Asbury Park
Great location but not a good experience. Was not aware the B&B was a 4 story walk up. My room had a nice view from the bathroom window The room was smaller than tiny and very outdated. The mattress was the smallest I have ever seen in a hotel or B&B extremely narrow. The mattress and pillow were not comfortable at all. The air-conditioner was an in window unit, literally less than 2 feet fro the bed and very noisy. Smallest bathroom I have seen since my trip to Europe.
4 out of 5
by Not Provided from Dumont

Enjoyed my stay

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
I enjoyed 2 and 1/2 days in Ocean Grove. Great hospitality at the lilaguaard !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Victorian Charm

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Charming decor, fluffy towels,tastefully decorated rooms,a complimentary paperback book,great hosts,.excellent location,comfortable accommodations.
Cons: Maybe a longer shower curtain liner so the water doesn't soak up the rug and a second towel bar in the bathroom
Location: A few yards from the boardwalk and ocean...parking right out front...within walking distance of restaurants and concerts. We enjoyed riding our bikes
The room was small but charming . The bed was very comfortable and the furniture and accessories were Victorian in style with lots of hand painted edging in the bathroom and bedroom. Our room was called the Watermelon Room and had a full wall painted mural of a watermelon stand. The air conditioner kept us cool and the bedding was colorful and tastefully matched the colors of the artwork on the walls. I especially loved how the floor sloped a bit toward the center,just like you would expect in an older home. We enjoyed going out on the large front porch in the evenings and watched movies on our Kindle Fire. You can see the boardwalk and the ocean from the porch as well. and the ocean breeze was delightful. I had read about the awesome breakfast Lillagaard provides and we were not disappointed. Mia and Tina were such delightful hostesses and the owner, Dick, was very friendly and helpful. Our breakfast was served in the first floor Victorian Tea Room complete with dozens of tea pots and hats and artwork. Parlor music played softly in the background as we dined on French toast, bacon,potatoes, fresh fruit, Greek yogurt, breads, multiple hot and cold beverages, and tiny cheesecakes. The second day we enjoyed eggs and sausage, seasoned potatoes, fresh fruit, Greek salad, and bread pudding. When Tina learned that it was our anniversary, she treated us to a delicious sample of one of their famous chocolate delights that they serve during their afternoon high tea parties.
4 out of 5
by suzanne

Simply perfect

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
Charmingly decorated, very friendly owners, very close to the beach and delicious breakfast. Restaurants also in walking distance. Planning to return to The Lillagard annually for a weekend getaway with my daughter July 2017 and thereafter!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not for me

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Although the hotel is a charming looking colonial, it's very outdated, very, very small. I had to climb over my husband to get out of the bed. And they offered a hot breakfast which is nice but not tasty.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels