Ratings based on 232 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Surprise Stay

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Had never stayed at this hotel before and would definitely go back in a heartbeat. Beautiful room, great in house restaurant made this a definite fantastic stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Hotel was very nice. Dinner at the restaurant was great and reasonably priced. Sunday brunch was fantastic. Never had a chance to check out the pool but the hotel and rooms were clean and quite nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Drayton Valley

Excellent hotel close to shopping.

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: The restaurant was excellent had the famous steak sandwich
Cons: The hair dryer was not working and there could be more room coffee.
Very nice hotel and been in operation for many years but must have been renovated recently, Christmas decorations were lovely and music in the lounge was very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Lindsay , Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We apoligize that your room was not in complete working order, but I assure you will look into the issue. Also you can always ask at the Front Desk for more coffee as we have 24 hour desk agent. Thanks again and hope to see you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from red deer

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Great atmosphere. Lovely dining. Friendly staff !!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Lindsay, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time in our restaurant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Parksville, B.C/

Perfect overnight stop in Red Deer.

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: Great nice sleep
Cons: Nothing
Location: Easy to find.
Very comfortable bed in spotless room. Delicious steak sandwich in the bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Lindsay , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: The quietness at night.
The room was comfortable and the breakfast in the restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. The hotel was walking distance from the mall, which was a plus too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Red Deer

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Rooms need work. Dark and old wall paper lamps furniture and one wonders what theu do with the money from the rooms. I cannot see how its rated a 4.3 of 5. Not worth the money paid comparing to other modern outlets. Dont offer the same benifets. Lights burnt out and remote didnt work. Appatently they had a master switch on the wall thay was off so half the lamps couldnt work. If the master switch was off why did half the other lamps turn on. Bathroom lamp was half burnt out. I guess if I had a hang over that would benifiet me. When I mentioned it the front desk once again made me feel I was the issue.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Family trip to Red Deer

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: The pool and hot tub facility was great. Good size and almost always empty. Staff were friendly if not numerous. Free wifi. Good location.
Cons: Safes in rooms! Better heating. Quieter fridge. Bar and Restaurant menus and lighting. More information on arrival. Room service later than 9PM!
Location: Good base for Calgary/Edmonton/Drumheller (see Tyrrell Museum and Hoodoos). City Centre is close - try 50th St bars / restaurants in particular.
We were in Alberta for a family wedding, involving trips to Emerald Lake, Edmonton and elsewhere. We chose to base ourselves in Red Deer for a week and the Black Knight appeared to be better than many of the other options on offer. In short, it was OK and without having stayed elsewhere in Red Deer, hard to judge whether it's "one of the best", or not. See below for specific pros and cons - but one factor that may be relevant was the timing of he trip - right at the end of August and thus "the season". It felt very quiet and thinly-staffed but this could just have been a conscious downsizing relative to the peak? Difficult to tell as this was our first visit to the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern Alberta

High Quality Accommodation and Hospitality

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Affordably priced and quality stay.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Great location. Very central and easy to access off the QE2.
Very nicely furnished. Staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and well laid out. Keurig coffee machine. Attended a workshop the following day. The servers were professional and the food was delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to all amenities and easy to find.

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Already said ir
Cons: Already said it
Location: Already said it
Older hotel but clean and quiet. Would have been nice to have a breakfast voucher of some sort, as most hotels offer that these days. Also some sort of coupon to entice guests to eat at one of the 2 facilities in the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Lindsay L , Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to review. I can assure you we will be taking your suggestions into consideration. Thanks for the feedback.