Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
41% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Was a lot nicer and cleaner than we expected. Not a bad hotel at all. Great to stay in for a couple nights but wouldn't recommend it for much longer than that as it doesn't have too many amenities
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Low-budget overcharge

Posted Nov 12, 2017
I have stayed here for years and despite some of its failings. It‘s a basic, low-budget accommodation that is well cleaned. But other elements leave something to be desired ... the breakfast is two choices of cold cereal and toast with jam packets, for example. The washrooms in the annex are drafty and neighbours’ noise carries through. But those are not deal-breakers at $76-85 dollars per night. But this week, on check-in I asked for the Annex like most stays. I was informed that the price would be $85 instead of the $76 I booked at. I agreed, because those rooms are slightly better. It turns out the rate card had it at $109 for all of the other three days. Shame on me for not reading the details, but I can usually trust check-in staff to explain details honestly. I got an apology from the manager afterwards, but no willingness to adjust price. I‘ll find a new place to stay for future visits.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wembley, Ab.

You get what you pay for.

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Cons: Move the noisy fridge away from the bed and fix the heater.
Noisy fridge next to bed. Noisy heating system was like water torture. Traffic noise and other guests could be heard through walls. No ashtray in a smoking room. Bed rattled against wall with every movement.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2017
It was bad experience, I pay to Expedia ad I have to pay more at hotel for deposit, more than the price of one night. (Refund the money in 10 day) The hotel smell a cigarette every where.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from banff

Bed bugs

Posted Oct 26, 2017
I was staying here for a weekend trip and had the unfortjnate experience of waking up the next morning covered in bed bug bites. When I reported it to hotel staff they told me it wasnt possible and handed me my reciept. Very dissapointing. Dont stay here its not clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed bugs

Posted Oct 23, 2017
the room appeared clean, but I woke up covered in itchy bed bug bites, The front desk staff did not seem concerned by my complaint.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Red Deer AB

Acceptable

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: The parking lot was very well lit.
Cons: Each night my room card was deactivated. I had to go to the front desk for a new one. A better computer system for key cards would be nice.
Location: I did not explore the area at all.
I booked this hotel for myself and my daughter, separate rooms. Mine was OK, older but nothing really old in the room. My daughter on the other hand did not have a clean room. Her fridge did not work. It smelled as if it had never been fully cleaned. The sink was leaking, the water was on the floor. When she mentioned this to the front desk their answer was OK. Not what I would consider customer service. Nothing was done for either of the nights she stayed. A bucket or towels would have made it more bearable than having water on the bathroom floor.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

A lot to be desired

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Disappointed in the Red Deer Econolodge after enjoying the Calgary location. My non - smoking room smelled like cigarettes (especially in the bathroom). The room's smoke detector had been removed and the showerhead was almost half off spraying water on the ceiling and out of the shower. The staff had the showerhead and smoke detector replaced at my request. The cleaning staff left something to be desired as I had killed a bug on the bathroom floor and the mark left was still there the next day. The "hot breakfast" was cereal, toast and store bought muffins - which were not even replenished the next day - just the leftovers were set out the next day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Good for a quick night stay but strong smell.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Close to a lot of things like Tim Hortons.
Cons: Smell and bathroom cleanliness.
Overall the room was fine for a night for the price. Only two big issues.... one was that the room stongly smelled of smoke or something else very similar. The second was that, starting around 6AM there was a banging noise from either next door or above us. Almost like someone was walking around and something was shaking hitting the wall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from red deer

Renovated rooms

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Stayed in the annex, recently renovated. Nice room, comfortable bed.