Ratings based on 224 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Good location and comfortable

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Location and it has a small pool.
Cons: Pillows that give a little more. I found they didn't give in to your head. Though soft the pillows were dense.
Location: Shopping is right there. You need to have a car but virtually anything you need is on the same street as the hotel.
The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean. To my surprise they have really nice bathroom products for use ie: shampoo and body lotion. The pillows though soft were very dense and I found them not as comfortable to sleep on. But the overall experience was very positive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Great location close to where we needed to be.

Posted May 14, 2017
Quick check in and the rooms were awesome plus the staff were very accommodating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Red Deer, Ab

Posted May 11, 2017
My experience with the hotel was not good because they blamed all the problems with the Expedia booking...... The air conditioning wasn't working but the hotel wouldn't do anything, but because I booked with Expedia. No breakfast coupon to compensate or anything!!! I was very disappointed with Sandman and Expedia!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

CLOSE TO WHERE I WAS GOING

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: LOCATION
Cons: PLUMBING UP GRADE
Location: BUSY ROAD, LOTS TO DO
NO HOT WATER THE ENTIRE TIME. I AM SUPPOSED TO GET A REFUND DUE TO THAT BUT THERE ARE NO OPTIONS TO CHOSE THAT ANYWHERE ON THIS SITE. I WAS TOLD I HAVE TO CONTACT EXPEDIA AS THAT IS HOW I BOOKED, THE HOTEL COULDN'T REFUND ME. VERY INCONVENIENT!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Mike, Hotel Management
We do apologize for the inconvenience of no hot water, unfortunately none of the repairs held for any amount of time. This was not a planned event, but a emergency repair. We are taking steps to ensure that front desk staff are better trained for emergencies such as this. We cannot return money to you that you did not pay us. Once you speak with Expedia to refund your money we will refund Expedia their money. Mike
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No hot water for almost 3 days

Posted Apr 24, 2017
We were informed via paper under the door (not at check in) that they'd be working on the boiler from 12-6am. I was coming off the first day of a 3-day equine trade show and got the notice after they'd already started. No big deal. 630 am the hotel alarm goes off and everyone evacuated. No fire. Boiler issue. Go back into the room finally to shower and start the next day of the trade show early. No hot water. Wait as long as possible. No hot water. Hair in a ponytail and off to the next 12 hours at the booth. Back to the hotel and crashed. The next morning - day 3 - no hot water. While the front desk refunded the two relevant nights, there was little else done to help. We were told they could find us space at another hotel but we would have to pay the upcharge. (Would they have refunded for a cheaper hotel?). Not the fault of staff that the boiler didn't get fixed for 3 days however with a hotel at full capacity with trade show exhibitors on a weekend, better choices could have been made for the timing of when the boiler was to be fixed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Mike, Hotel Management
We do apologize for the inconvenience of no hot water, unfortunately none of the repairs held for any amount of time. This was not a planned event, but a emergency repair. We are taking steps to ensure that front desk staff are better trained for emergencies such as this. Mike
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Problems, problems

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: The hotel did not charge us for our stay, which we are very grateful for. There is a great Moxies attached to the hotel. That was very convenient.
From the minute we arrived, problems. Some rooms have comfy beds, some don't. Some rooms have fridges, some don't. We where moved three times until they found us a room with a fridge. My sister is celiac so a fridge is necessary. Toilet dripped for three days. I told the front desk about it. She asked me if I knew how to pull off the top of the toilet and lift the chain. Old lights that blink and buzz before they turn on. The bathroom one was really bad. Fire alarm went off at 6:00 am. No one told the guests if there was a fire or not. The fire department hadn't shown up after 20min, so when the alarm went off everyone just went back to their rooms. Still no communication about what was happening from the hotel staff. It went off again at 6:45. No hot water for over 24 hours. It was still not repaired when we checked out on Sunday morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Mike, Hotel Management
We do apologize for the inconvenience of no hot water, unfortunately none of the repairs held for any amount of time. This was not a planned event, but a emergency repair. We are taking steps to ensure that front desk staff are better trained for emergencies such as this. Mike
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
The stay is always decent, however this was my first time on the main floor and I had a view of old mattresses frozen in the snow outside my window.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2017
Thank you
4 out of 5
by Terry

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017
Thank you for your response. Mike
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Customer Service

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Upon check in, staff was extremely rude. Kelsey and the Manager in training were both unprofessional. Room was spacious and clean. However, the overall vibe was uncomfortable and uncleanly. Would not recommend to a friend. Will not be rebooking with this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Mike, Hotel Management
Hi, I hope that our conversation upon check out can help sway you to try us again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Clean / convenient
Cons: Reduce the noise in room 417 Get the TV to work Fix the lack of hot water in the AM
Hotel was clean - but the room was average. Room was clean but it was located next to a utility room or something that had water running such that it was noisy all night. The TV did not work and despite asking for help, I was not able to use it during my stay... :-( The water in the shower was lukewarm in the morning - seems like there may not be enough hot water heaters... ??