Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Drums, PA

Hidden gem

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Convenience, comfort, friendliness, quiet and delightful.
Cons: can't think of a thing
Location: 2 blocks to the funeral home we needed to go to was so very convenient. Dining and shopping very close.
We were unaware of this BnB until we checked hotels/motels for Red Lion PA. We did not expect ANY hits on our search. But to our surprise and delight, the Red Lion Bed and Breakfast came up! Having to attend a funeral of a loved one is very hard. And to try to find a place to stay overnight, is daunting. We did not want to stay in York, then to Red Lion for the viewing, then back to the hotel in York, then down to Winterstown for the funeral. Coming across this delightful place became our home away from home. Very cozy and comfortable. We will most definitely stay here again. This hidden gem is wonderful. With a snack basket, bottled water, coffee and tea, we couldn't ask for anything more. Thank you Red Lion Bed and Breakfast for everything!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty setting but room was outdated

Posted Aug 18, 2015
I was looking for a B&B close to York,PA , with this being described as being nearby .. It actually was 1/2 hour drive from downtown York. The room was clean, but the building that it was in was outdated , musty smelling and odd. The bathroom floor was covered with something sticky and it was not clear if I would be sharing that bathroom with others . There were no screens in the windows so that when the air conditioning was inadequate at night , the room was hot and stuffy . The breakfast was tasty and having it served out on the patio was lovely. The ratings for this place are deceptively high .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Wonderful, Quaint B&B

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Very pleasant check in, room was comfortable, kitchen area was very clean and well equipped. Breakfast was very nice, much better than hotel buffet breakfasts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Nice,New hotel in the mountains.

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Arrived after a day that included an emergency room trip and were delighted to find the clean, well run hotel. Our room was sizeable and well appointed. Staff was helpful and gracious. Breakfast was served in a large room with a well organized buffet. A staff member created each person as they came and when they seated themself, she came to give each person a small box of candy. A delightful stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Great room, excellent breakfast and incredible staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Williamsport, PA

Welcoming and Gracious

Posted Oct 15, 2014
The owners of the Red Lion B&B have been welcoming guests for 14 years. Their experience shows in the decor details and guest comforts. There is plenty of off-street parking. Late check-ins are handled graciously. The linens/towels are good quality. There are hardwood floors throughout. The bedroom doors have glass crystal knobs & there's a Keurig coffee maker/cups to use at guests' convenience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Chosen Because of "Exceptional Value"

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness of the rooms. The proprietors were very accomplished in the kitchen. One runs her own bakery and sweet shop in the town!
Cons: There were many ladies magazines in the common area but no magazines for guys. We would recommend Popular Mechanics, Sports Illustrated, etc.
Location: The Great American Saloon was a great place to eat.
We (my wife and I) have only positive experiences to share. The room was ready when we got there. Their recommendations for dinner at another establishment in Red Lion were exactly correct! (The dinner superb; the waitress was very attentive; our shared dessert was a great value!) The room was clean, nicely arranged and very comfortable. Upon rising from a superb sleep the next morning, we went to the hallway where we could prepare flavored coffee or tea in a Keurig pot. Then, for breakfast, we were treated by our proprietors to a fresh parfait, with coffee and juice, followed by a very tasty quiche, scone and slices of bacon. We were sad to leave after one night and we wish that we were heading that way again in the near future. We highly recommend this B&B establishment to anyone who desires an enjoyable, comfortable stay with PA hospitability! Enjoy!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice!

Posted Oct 2, 2014
My daughter and I stayed for only one night, but we just loved it. Everything was so lovely and comfortable. We hope to come back and spend a few days next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, Quaint & Friendly with Great Food

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: delicious food, cleanliness, friendliness, lots of parking, price
Cons: My two complaints are sound (thin walls) and really really thin toilet paper.
Location: just a stone-throw from York PA
Great place to stay with friendly staff, clean quarters and delicious meals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Greg from Rancho, CA

Very nice bed and breakfast...

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: Overall, a very nice experience and worth doing again.
Cons: The only detractor was that it was very cold during our stay, and we could not control the temperature in our room (perhaps we couldn't find it?).
Location: It was a bit out of the way, but worth the overall experience.
I spent a few nights here with my girlfriend while visiting with family. The staff (George) was very nice and accommodating. We stayed in the "Colonial" room, and the room was very well appointed, spacious, and clean - my girlfriend raved about how much she like the bathroom too. We slept through breakfast the two mornings we woke there, but George's wife owns a bakery, and they provided us with some muffins and scones anyway. It snowed the first night we were there and the staff shoveled all of the walkways and even around my car so that we could get in without walking through 6 inches of snow. Very nice stay and worth staying with again.