Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Billings, Mt

Out dated, but clean

Posted Mar 14, 2017
To expensive for what it is. No frig or microwave. Old tv. 126.00. Nice staff, very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Katherine, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent visit to Rock Creek. Thanks for choosing us and for letting us know what your experience was, both the positive and negative. We will be better equipped to serve future guest. Sincerely, Katherine Hunt, Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Dakota

Charming!

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Really - everything! We were there in late September so we didn't have the summer heat - gratefully - since there are no room air conditioners.
Cons: Air conditioners. Most people want cool rooms when they sleep - at least this family. The staff did provide us with two large fans.
Location: The spectacular beauty of the Beartooth Pass leading into and out of Yellowstone National Park. Breathtaking!!
What a delightful experience! The reception staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms comfortable and clean. The first floor outside decks are nice - watch for grizzlies!! It was really nice to stay at such a unique in a beautiful setting...right along a river. The restaurant food was delicious and serving staff delightful! Reminiscent of a small, family owned ski resort or large Gasthaus in Europe. Lovely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2017 by Katherine Hunt, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Rock Creek Resort. I am happy to hear that you had such a pleasant visit and hope you will be able to come again soon. Your feedback is valuable in helping us to improve. Thanks again, Katherine Hunt, Front Desk Manager
1 out of 5
by Theodore

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
I was very disappointed in the location, the service, the lack of TV programing, the breakfast, the parking, and the lack of basic lodging service!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay at Rock Creek Resort. I am sorry you had a poor experience. Thank you for your feedback, it helps us improve our service. Katherine Hunt, Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful location! Could hear the creek out our window but couldn't open the jammed window. Maintenance needed to spend some more time on the room. Lobby was very beautiful for the holidays.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with us. I am sorry you experienced some maintenance issues. Thank you for your feedback, it helps us improve our service to guests. We hope you return some time soon. Katherine Hunt, Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
We had a one night stay in the Grizzly Condos- room was very basic and a little outdated but clean and comfortable. we were on the creekside and the ambient sound was perfect. The downtown in Red Lodge is quaint and has lots of shops and a few good restaurants, and the Red Lodge Ales is a must stop.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Rock Creek Resort for your stay in Red Lodge. We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again soon. Thanks for your feedback. Katherine Hunt Front Desk Manager Rock Creek Resort
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Location. Location. Location

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Location is great and that is the hotels main selling point.
Cons: The cost for the night was high. The murphy beds were comfortable but low. The television was horrible to control. Temperature controls also dont function properly. It was 80 degrees and was set to 60. Very dated decor. Time for an update
Location: Location is about 5 miles from town (Red Lodge) but is right next to the creek
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2016 by Katherine Hunt, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We hope you are able to visit again. Thanks for your feedback. Katherine Hunt Front Desk Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice room on the creek

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Enjoyed our stay. Beautiful setting. Friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2016 by Katherine Hunt, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Rock Creek Resort. We are glad you had such a great visit and hope to see you again soon. Thanks for your positive feedback. Katherine Hunt, Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Rooms are nice but pricey.

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Rooms are smaller than you might expect for the price but probably not in a resort area - but nice. Very good continental breakfast. Very good overall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2016 by Katherine Hunt, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Rock Creek Resort. We are glad you had a pleasant time and hope to see you back again. Thanks for your feedback. Katherine Hunt Front Desk Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Nice river view and pool
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Rock Creek Resort. We appreciate your business and are glad you had an enjoyable visit. Katherine Hunt Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Road trip.

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
Easy check in. Room was out dated but very clean. Our bed was amazing. Our view from the window, Wow! A running creek about 20 feet wide just outside our window. The sound & view was memorizing. Restaurant, we ordered food to go so we could eat in the room. We waited over 50 minutes for it. We walked directly to our room, and It was very cold. Salad was warm. Ugh. No microwave in the room. We were hungry from site seeing, so we ate it & went to bed. We went to check out in the morning, I inquired about a $50 room deposit. I got a text alert from my credit card warning of the extra charge. A young woman was helping me, explained that its the hotels policy, in case of "damages". Since we were checking out, the charge would come off immediately. As she was talking to me another woman behind the counter, who was helping & speaking to other customers, jumped in, very rudely stated that ALL hotels do this. I explained that me & my husband are well traveled & yes this used to be done, but we have not encountered it in a very long time, except at resorts with room service & extra amenities. This hotel has none. She then continued to berate me in front of other guests on how hotels work. My husband intervened & told her enough. I then told them both to have a good day & we left. Totally unacceptable. I was shaking when we left. She was so DISRESPECTFUL. I was being helped. There was no need to jump in. I was very polite & so was the girl helping me. She was so terrible&condescending
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay at Rock Creek Resort. I am sorry to hear that you had some unpleasant experiences. We are always open to learning new and professional ways to interact with guests. Thank you for your feedback. Katherine Hunt Front Desk Manager