Ratings based on 161 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by ALLEN

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
Check in/out fast and easy. Good continential breakfast. Needs new wall paper in bathroom - some dark spots, ?mold?
4 out of 5
by Remigio Alvarado

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great for people on a budget

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Overall, it was worth the price we paid for one night stay over the weekend. Only issues I had were the windows weren't clean, TV channel programming could be improved (lacked certain channels I like), WiFi was a bit slow at first (took a while to connect), and breakfast items could have more variety. I read previous negative reviews, but everything looked modern and updated to me as of June 2017. I only interacted with the staff twice, but they were very friendly and courteous.
5 out of 5
by Robert

Great place to stay

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
I can't think of anything bad to say about this place... the staff was great, the rooms were clean and in good condition. While it might not be right in the downtown Red Wing area, there is lots of great shopping around it in the form of the Pottery Place Mall, and Kelly's Tap House and the Red Wing Brewery are just a few minutes walk down the road. I'd definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapois, MN

Very Nice!

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff! Comfy bed!
Cons: The hotel could stand some updating (bathroom fixtures, carpet) but was otherwise very acceptable.
Location: Red Wing, MN, is a very popular Mississippi River town. It is very historic and the architecture is great. You must visit the St. James Hotel!
I hate to say it, but this hotel was not my first choice. However, all the others in the surrounding area were booked up so I took a chance. I am very pleased to say that the hotel was clean and neat. The couple that run the hotel are delightful and very anxious to please. Our king bed, no smoking room, although not the most stylish, was clean and the bed was very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation and would stay there again if the opportunity arose.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
terrible hotel! mold everywhere. no hot water, some times no water would even come out of our faucet! ! tv worked when it felt like it. there was a door in the pool area (going to outside ) that had a mold hole in it. I don't understand how this place passed any kind of health code. the only positive thing I have to say is that the people were nice to us. the hot tub room smelled SO SOUR! like sour milk. you could smell it through the vent in the door. we did call other hotels but no openings for 4 people, with the fishing tournament this wknd everything was booked. I feel bad even writing this but other people should know! the pics made it look like a nice quiet, clean spot. not the case.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs help

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
Needs updates
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
The rooms were old and a little dirty mold present in the bathroom toilet would keep running the TV was hard to figure out without a guide but for the price you really wouldn't expect much better
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels