Ratings based on 267 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
32% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bend, OR

Conveniently located for the price

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: The bed was comfortable and the AC worked very well on a 106 degree day
Cons: A little extra elbow grease from the cleaning crew, new comforters without burn holes in non-smoking rooms and pool towels would be a nice addition.
Location: Easy access from I-5
A little tlc and this would not be a bad hotel. The bed was very comfortable and the ac worked well. Our comforter had burn holes even though we were in a non smoking room. One of our clean towels had grease on it. the denny's in the parking lot is very convenient. We did not have any problems with parking because of it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fullerton, CA

You get what you pay for...

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Air conditioning, location convenience and breakfast at Lumberjacks.
Cons: The condition of the shower and bathroom floor.
Location: We went downtown to eat, there was a grocery store nearby and we walked on the glass bridge. The next day we drove to the Shasta Dam.
The hotel was centrally located, the room was mostly clean (the bathroom, in particular the shower was gross), the pool looked murky, but the air conditioner worked well. I'd say the best part of the stay was our breakfast in the morning at Lumberjacks (you each get a free meal- only certain items)- the food was good, great coffee, and wonderful service!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

WORST hotel experience ever.

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: NOTHING. It was all so creepy. We actually felt need to search the room for hidden cameras. Didn't even want to climb into the sheets, but no choice
Cons: EVERYTHING. Especially cleanliness. Also, an exterminator is very badly needed for the spider infestation that has taken over the outside.
Location: Scary parking lot, Only there to sleep and continue road trip in morning, so we did not do anything in the area.
Night clerk was friendly and accommodating at check-in. Unfortunately, it was downhill from there: Clerk stated they "did not leave him enough keys" so he would meet us at the back of property to unlock door to one of the rooms (we reserved 2), and we wouldn't have a key to that room. He met us there, and as husbands unloaded suitcases from car, the wives followed clerk while carrying sleeping kids up to the room. Once inside, he just stood there by the open door and asked, "so this is where the girls will be staying?" We simply said "thank you" but he wouldn't leave and lingered watching us. I asked "are you staying here for some reason?", which irritated him & he left. Many seedy characters wandering the parking lot and making connections with people in cars. We were shocked there was no break-in of our car in the morning. Rooms were both scorching hot with no AC on, and took awhile to cool down, so going to sleep was difficult. Spiders and spiderwebs had overtaken all outside stairwells and walkways, even a big active web in the doorway to room we had to duck under. Felt like a haunted house. EXTERMINATOR NEEDED! Rooms were cheap and seedy. Candy wrapper was on floor in bathroom, used/dirty hand towel was by sink, bedding was yucky & coming untucked (felt the need to check for bedbugs, none found) and pitiful tiny pillows adorned with hodgepodge linens. Listing stated free breakfast, but none was discussed, or seen or desired at that point. COULDN'T WAIT TO GET OUT!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

One night stay

Posted Jul 7, 2017
It was one night stay. It was ok for one night. I wouldn't stay for longer trips. It's more like a motel than a hotel. Pool was warm.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Motel 6 type hotel disguised as Red Lion

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pool had mildew on walls Homeless camp right outside hotel. Didn't feel safe Hallway smelled like pot Interior of room had recently been redone but the sleeper sofa had not. It was leather and noisy when someone moved on it. My daughter moved to the floor halfway through the night because the floor was more comfortable. Outside temp had been 111 during the day and was over 100 when we arrived. The AC had not been turned on in our room in prep for our reservation that included a request for late check in. We arrived at 8p and had to go somewhere else waiting for the room to be cooler. Took 5+ hours to cool off the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Wa.

It was a Quick stop over night.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Cons:
Parking was limited. It was ok for a quick stop over on a trip.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange

Needs substantial improvement.

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Everything. Try a wrecking ball, perhaps.
Location: It was close to the freeway. There is a Dennys next door. There are gas stations and other restaurants close as well.
This hotel was one of the worst I have ever experienced. I booked a smoking room by mistake, so I won't fault them for the atrocious smell, but the room still makes me nauseous. The carpet was sticky. The walls were dirty. The bathroom tiles were cracking. I'm not sure who they hired to paint, but they painted about as well as my 6 year old might. The ONLY saving graces at this hotel were a comfortable bed (covered in stained and burned sheets, but still), and a fully functional air conditioner. The guests were questionable at best. I was grateful I didn't have my children with me. Scary experience that I hope to never repeat.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

WORST hotel I have ever stayed in

Posted Jun 5, 2017
The website shows rooms from a different hotel. We tried 3 rooms and they were dirty and nasty. Spider nests all over the ceiling. The beds were old and broken. Hands down the WORST hotel we have seen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the highway off. Ramp and off ramp

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Comfortable room, great breakfast plan for across the street at @The Lumberjack"
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2017 by Katie , Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us, we're glad you enjoyed it!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Riverside County, CA

Burned bedding, poor security, inadequate staffing

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: Proximity to freeway and restaurants.
Cons: More front desk courtesy. Bedding that is not damaged. Cleaner rooms. Better security - you NEED TO ADDRESS the issue of transients everywhere!
This is definitely a case of getting what you paid for. I got a great rate for an overnight stay at this property, which is located conveniently close to restaurants and Interstate 5. End of positives. I travel often from one end of California to the other. I frequent many hotels, so I was very put off by the attitude of the check-in agent - who informed me that they needed a credit card on file - because if I smoked in the room ("that includes cigarettes, vaping and marijuana") I would be billed for it. I was told that if I "snuck a dog in" I would be billed for it. These are all common policies, but the accusatory way in which I was informed of them at this particular hotel started the whole stay off on a bad note. My room "needed to be checked" before I could get into it. When I walked up to it, an employee was bringing towels inside. How she missed the bedspread with THREE burn holes right on top of it I'll never know. She didn't say a word to me when I thanked her for the towels. The ONE ice machine was broken. Clerk said someone would fix it the next day. Of course, I was going to have checked out by then. Parking at this hotel, in a word...SUCKS. A lot of the spaces are occupied by those eating at the restaurant in the same parking area. You'll want to park your vehicle where you can see it if staying here - transients are all over the place, on foot and on bicycles. No hotel security appears to be on hand. NOTHING LIKE THE RED LION ON HILLTOP DRIVE.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2017 by Front Desk , Hotel Management
We are sorry you had such a bad experience, we try to inform our guest of the potential charges they may receive for breaking the terms of agreement on the registration form when they check in, we will definitely word it differently and our housekeepers are currently putting new bedding in all the rooms. Parking and people walking through the lot is an ongoing problem that we are trying to solve. Thanks for your feedback