Ratings based on 331 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
27% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

Basic, but CLEAN :)

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Clean, comfortable bed. Nice price.
Cons: The grounds are just very dated, but the interior of the room was good.
Location: We were just there for the night and on our way in the morning.
We needed a cheap, clean, quiet, convenient room and this served that purpose. We were pleasantly surprised by the breakfast vouchers that were honored by the Lumberjack Restaurant across the street. Great venue and good food! Best part of our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Learn how to flean

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Everything was filthy. Like come on. People obviously don’t do their job. Not hard to replace a shower curtain or Wipe stuff down. Ridiculous. I know this hotel is cheap but it could’ve atleast been cleaner.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Redding Ca

Didn't stay. Bad tv.

Posted Oct 7, 2017
TV had no sound on at least one channel. Picture on others would give you a head ache. Checked out and left after 10 minutes.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

lopsided beds, dirty towels

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: The hotel staff try to be helpful despite the bad conditions.
Cons: There are too many to list but improving the cleanliness would be the top priority.
Location: Lumberjack diner. Close to grocery stores and gas station.
-The rooms are not well cleaned. I can see stains on the toilet seats. -The A/C vent blows out air that smells like mildew. -Housekeeping would forget to replace toiletries when the old ones are used up. I can always find at least one towel with stains. -The mattress is lopsided and has a slop to it; it was so uncomfortable that my neck would hurt the next day.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Luis Obispo

Red Lion Suites off Cypress

Posted Sep 29, 2017
My infant daughter and I got quoted $74 a night which turned it to be $86. A young staff member, Katie, stole my wallet which made it almost impossible to get the baby back home. My ID and $300 in cash as she offered to assist me moving rooms. Took advantage of my hands being full and I was in a panic. Decent place and the other staff that were gentleman were very ocommadatin to the rest of the days we stayed. We had to stay longer obviously, because we had no ID to rent anywhere else let alone any money. This red lion is not the one on Hill top. It's right by Denny's restaurant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reno

Worst stay ever!

Posted Sep 24, 2017
The first room stunk. The smoke detector kept chirping because the battery was low. The toilet wouldn't flush none of the lamps were plugged in the docking station didn't work. So they moved us to a second room. The air conditioner didn't work there were no light bulbs in the lamps. There was a crack in the tub faucet so when you pulled the knob up to take a shower you had water coming out of the faucet and barely out of the shower head and you were standing in water because the tub wouldn't drain. The hair dryer was missing. I thought we were booking a room at the Red Lyon on Hilltop Drive in Redding, which is fabulous. Not the one on Cypress which was a dump. I will NEVER go through expidia again. This was supposed to be a weekend celebration for our anniversary. We could have gotten a better room at motel 6.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Humph!!!

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The receptionist was very nice and recommended some places to eat since we arrived to the hotel at a later time. We had driven hours and it was heart warming to meet such a cheerful lady. We received the room key and went to eat late supper before going to our room. We had made arrangements the day before and rented the "junior suite" with two queen beds and a sofa. The beds were nice, high and comfortable. Lots of pillows and an extra blanket if needed. Even though the room was a bit stuffy the smell was fresh, there was a nice sized pool and courtyard below. On the other hand, the sofa/bed was a futon that looked like it was from the 70's and was overused, the curtain flew up and away from the window when using the fan/air that you could see inside as you walked by, we had to place a book against the curtain on the windowsill to try to hold it down, had to reoeat this process a few times, the toilet ran all night, wiggling the handle did not work and the shower walls had something smeared on them. All in all, we could have possibly requested a different room but after packing everything up the double stairs, the long drive, being exhausted and had just eaten, we stayed put.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ca

WARNING: This is NOT the 'regular' Red Lion Hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2017
DUPED! I booked on Expedia whilst we were in the car and I had no idea there is 'another' Red Lion chain out there. When we pulled up, I thought "this does not look like a normal Red Lion." Extremely small compound, basic rooms, like a Motel 6. I walked into the lobby and discovered that I had inadvertently made my reservation for the next day, not that night, but the staff said he could probably find me a room. I asked if this was "the" Red Lion and he said they were not affiliated. I walked out to my car to get on Expedia to cancel my reservation for the next day, only to find that this hotel does not offer refunds. Tried to find a phone number to call Expedia but the various clicks to "contact us" just kept taking me in circles on their website. I got DUPED, and can't get my $100 back. I feel Expedia should let people know this is not the normal Red Lion.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ore.

Wet bed no pillow covers

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Bed spread and sheets were wet and the pillows had no covers over them. Very dated hotel. Breakfast was very good. Lobby staff was very accommodating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2017
I could hear freeway traffic all night. Curtains did not stay closed. People walking by & talking throughout the night.