Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ok but it is not expensive its priced accordingly.

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: it is in a nice village and its also a good pub.
Cons: perhaps bathroom could be redecorated
I arrived, I slept, I left. that's just about it. No breakfast no food just a cup of tea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

Old world pub style charm

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Great place and great food and people very friendly. So guess what ? It's great!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not happy with the room at all. Stale smell.

Posted Aug 10, 2016
I booked this hotel for my mother in-law that stayed her for a few nights before we went to a wedding. The reason I booked this hotel is 6 years ago one of my friends stayed there and it was very cozy, staff friendly and the food was great. We did not have the same experience this time. My boyfriend and I were supposed to stay the last night but didn't because we gave our double room to his mum thinking that the double room would be nicer. I let the hotel know that we were not happy with the room and that was the reason we weren't staying and she was in the bigger room. They didn't seem to care and still charged me for the night for the empty room. The double room was bigger that's all but honestly this hotel is not as it used to be. It needs updating badly and does not have the same cozy feel it used to. Maybe the management had changed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Very convenient, really helpful staff

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Situation. Restaurant. Really helpful staff.
Cons: Bedroom décor and lighting.
Location: Pretty village location. Close to Gatwick and M25.
Good restaurant. Breakfasts were good but slow. Some of décor a bit tired, but room very comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: The room and bathroom
The hotel is obviously very old but this doesn't mean that the rooms need to be as tired as ours was. The facilities were all there and the room could have been very pleasant with some decoration, new carpet, toilet seat that fitted etc. It smelled a little like an old people's home! The freshly cooked breakfast helped to redeem the stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2016
Room was small but clean. Fittings are tired & old. Ok place for one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from

convenient

Posted May 5, 2016
Convenient location near to venue for a family party. Good value and nice breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lucky find in a great location

Posted May 3, 2016
I came here for an overnight stay en route to the south coast. The stay turned out to be an additional bonus to the holiday. It was a privilege to stay in a well preserved historic inn in a beautiful part of the country. The evening meal was delicious and home cooked to a high standard - well above expectations of the usual pub fare.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Pub / Hotel in a pretty village.

Posted Feb 27, 2016
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: The size of the room and bathroom.
Good value considering the size of the breakfast. The room was rather small and the heating didn't need to be that hot! The staff were great and the food good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ballymena, N Ireland.

Good oldie world hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: We liked everything
Fast check in, very friendly staff, good atmosphere, Very enjoyable stay. Hotel building is hundreds of years old so don't expect all the mod cons. Excellent.