Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet location, 15 minute drive to RC airport

Posted Oct 22, 2012 on Hotels
Our one night stay was fine--the rooms were pleasant, the wake up call was on time, and the staff happily made us coffee even at the ungodly hour of 4:30 am! There is free, first-come parking in front of the hotel, and inexpensive paid parking in a garage.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very short walk to beach

Posted Jul 4, 2012 on Hotels
Decent old hotel which is very close to the beach. Air conditioning was fair at best. Staff was great, particularly Francesco, our waiter/busboy for breakfast and dinner - very charming and engaging with all 3 of us. The dinners at the hotel were good, but there isn't much else near the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Thank God we were on the Mainland!!!

Posted Sep 27, 2011 on Hotels
Very comfortable room, great bathroom, booked the room from the ferry crossing the straits of Messina! A two minute walk to the beach. Beautiful pool. Dinner served at tables around the pool and delightful jazz (recorded) as the dinner music. We were happy to be here!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Regent Hotel Catona, Reggio di Calabria

Posted May 25, 2011 on Hotels
We only stayed one night and we were very satisfied. The hotel deserves its 4 star rating. The staff were friendly and efficient. We ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel and we were very satisified with the cost and quality of both. Car parking is secure in a garage. We didn't have time to test the pool and the outside lounging area, but the area was well maintained. A good hotel that served us well as a stopover as we prepared to cross to Sicily the next morning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

A gem in the rough

Posted Feb 13, 2011 on Hotels
Nice stay, beautiful facilities, but the neighborhood is a bit dicey, especially in the off season. Staff weren't too keen on helping find a place to eat or with any other request, and other loud guests staying up all night didn't help the situation either. More of a business hotel than a place to relax and enjoy the views...
2 out of 5
by Jill from Long Island, NY

Disappointed

Posted Apr 22, 2010
The hotel staff was the highlight of this hotel, friendly warm and very accommodating. The hotel was dant and musty. We changed rooms 3 times and wound up in a room that still smelled and had ants. The breakfast was terrible! The hotel is off the beaten track halfway between Reggio Di Calabria and the ferry terminal to Messina. It is possible that an April trip (off season?) is significantly different that one during the summer months?
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Can

Very good but away from town

Posted Jun 23, 2008
The people at the office were very helpful. The dinner was excellent, one of the best we had in south Italy and we arrived late, the dining room was supposed to be closed 10 min. earlier. But expensive taxi ride from the train station. Hopefully they are closed to the maritime terminal to go to Sicilia and to the local train station.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Strandnähe für mich wichtig

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Ruhige Ortschaft und Strandlage
Cons: Pauschaltouristen besser behandeln
Location: Kann ich nichts dazu sagen.Brauch im Urlaub Ruhe
Würde wieder Urlaub machen,Ich hoffe nur das Hotelgäste besser behandelt werden
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lauda

Gewollt und nicht gekonnt!

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Name und Empfangshalle versprechen mehr als das Hotel halten kann. Das Frühstück war eine Frechheit. Die Tischdecken waren noch vom Vorabend verschmutzt. Es gab ausschließlich Fischmesser und das Bufett war ausgesprochen lieblos hergerichtet (die Cornflakes wurden in zerbeulten Originalkartons angeboten). Aus der Dusche kam nur tröpfchenweise Wasser - später funktionierte sie wieder besser. Wahrscheinlich kann nur eine bestimmte Anzahl an Leuten gleichzeitig duschen. Das einzig gute an diesem Hotel ist der Umstand, dass man nur 5 Min. zur Fähre nach Messina braucht.
2 out of 5
by Bernhard from 66679 Losheim am See

Keinesfalls 4 Sterne Hotel!

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
Das Hotel hat bestimmt schon bessere Zeiten erlebt. Beim Frühstück muß reichlich Abstriche machen, lediglich der Kaffee konnte begeistern!