Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Ed

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenience > Comfort

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
The Sea Esta 1 is a retro motel that's extremely convenient to the beach. It's only a block or a few away from all the Dewey nightlife hotspots like Hammerheads, Bottle & Cork and Starboard. Unfortunately, there's no convenience mart or pharmacy close by so bring what you need in terms of cups, beverages, band-aids, etc. The bathroom and room was pretty small and smelled slightly mildew-y. It's by no means a luxurious experience but it suited our needs just fine. We barely spent time in the room, just stopped in for a shower post-beach and pre-going out. The mattresses and pillows weren't fantastic. I'd recommend for a budget-friendly accommodation a block from Dewey Beach. However, if you're looking for luxury, look elsewhere :)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MD

Stuffy and smelly

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Space is supper tight for the money spent and the occomadations were bare minimum, one of the beds had blood stains on the sheets. Not the cleanest of the places. Did not restock towels or clean after the first night... Good thing we are low maintenance guests. A lot of flies in the room that was clearly known to be a problem, as a flyswatter was conveniently placed in the room. For about 300 per night was expecting a little more. Location was great, walking distance to the bars in Dewey and the trolley stop a few minutes away from the motel.
3 out of 5
by Junhui

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Wesley

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Danielle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Marcia from McHenry, MD

Great location, paper thin walls.

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
The room was convenient and comfortable, however, the paper thin walls were a bit of an issue when my 13 year old granddaughter could hear the couple next door.
2 out of 5
by Bryan from East Berlin, PA

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
First the positives: Great location and very nice staff. Negatives: Broken blinds forced us to have to be moved to another room. The walls are very thin. No maid service(they had a help wanted sign up). Sheets were dirty. Remote didn't work. (dead batteries?) Wifi was so slow I could not pull up any work. In the bathroom, the toilet is situated so far against the wall, you practically had to sit sideways on it. Honestly, if you are looking for a place to crash while at the beach during the summer and you don't plan on being at the hotel much, if only to sleep, this will suffice. The location is perfect. However, it is in much need up upgrade/renovation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gross but expected

Posted Sep 10, 2015 on Hotels
Floor was wet and smelled like mildew when we arrived. Air conditioning was temperamental. Never had maid service. Barely had space to put the cot in the room. Bathroom was in a word just gross. But it was cheap (could have been cheaper to be honest) and we were expecting a low budget motel. It had beds and that was what we needed. Great location - right next to the beach and walking distance from everything.