Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reidsville NC

minus average.

Posted Dec 12, 2017
No blankets on bed or for bed. One hand towel (2people) One waste basket in whole room. No iron. Freezer door broken off and freezer frozen with solid ice. Curtains wouldn't cover all of window letting light in. Breakfast was lousy.- -dounuts were hard and the fruit was totally bad. Had been apparently left over for days. Strawberries were so mushy and a pink color, blueberries were soft and mushy. None of the fruit served was edible. Will not stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Morehead City, N.C.

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Good economical price and they have fixed it up nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

They always do their best

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Awesome bunch of people. I get my requested non smoking room every time. I am extremely allergic to smoke. The ONLY reason I didn't rate 5 all the way across the board though is because this last time, someone was either downstairs or close by the room smoking marijuana. It was coming in through the vent, therefore I had a headache and other symptoms during my stay. Other than that this hotel and staff is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Right off highway, newly renovated.

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Location was great. The hotel was still in the process of getting renovated, but our room was clean & new. Overall it was ok, had everything including a mini fridge & microwave, bathtub was the only original thing (still in good shape, just you could tell with everything else being updated)... but calling that you have breakfast included is a bit of a stretch, some cereal on a counter & a waffle maker with a mini fridge of milk (& presumably batter) isn't what I envisioned, but for the price, didn't really need to even be included. Overall, value for what we paid was completely worth it & I would recommend it do anyone stopping in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Village, OH

Disappointed and Inconvenienced

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Pre-registration requests. Front desk personnel. Breakfast options. Lobby area bathroom facilities.
Location: Don't know --- didn't linger to find out as in route to destination.
I had pre-registered online requesting 1st floor room and informing of late arrival (9:00p). I had driven 12 hours straight; very tired. No bathroom facility in lobby area. Waited my turn to register and told NO FIRST FLOOR ROOM. I have physical limitations -- stairs a struggle, especially carrying heavy bag. Only one person on duty - could not assist me as others waiting in line to register. I was given a "Take it or leave it" option. At this point I didn't feel I had any real option. My only salvation the assistance of a young military man in line who offered to carry my bag. Room: some effort to upgrade apparent in new bedding, cabinetry, sink and countertop. Tub/shower and toilet old. But bathroom appeared to be clean. In morning with some effort I found a maintenance man who kindly carried my bag down for me. The breakfast was very limited -- no protein, eggs or such -- only bland packaged pastries, waffles, few pieces of fruit. Desk personnel not very friendly or accommodating. APPARENTLY THIS FACILITY DOES NOT TAKE INTO CONSIDERATION PRE-REGISTRATION REQUESTS AND PROVIDE NO PRIOR NOTICE!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from va

It was better than I expected.

Posted Oct 16, 2017
My stay was better than I expected. A couple things here and there they could have adjusted but not that bad for the price. And I feel like they need more staff. I checked in around 2pm and I stood there for about 20 or 30 minutes ringing the bell and waiting on someone to give me my room key. Another thing I didn’t care for was the tv situation. It took forever for it to come on and when it did the signal was poor. But other than those things my stay wasn’t too bad. I’d come again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Morehead City,NC

Nice

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The motel is old but they are renovating it. The room we stayed in had been renovated and was nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place for the money

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
Front desk gentleman was very friendly and helpful room needed remodeling because of the out dated decor but they were in this process of doing that without disturbing the guests. Breakfast was good but simple. Room was clean and the price was great. No blow dryer in the bath
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jared

Weekend at Gills Inn & Suites

Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed over a weekend for a race at VIR, once we arrived to the hotel (late check-in - past 9:00pm) I was surprised with a friendly guy behind the front desk. He went ahead to our room and cut the lights and a/c while we pulled the car around to the back section which was very nice, considering most give you a room key and say set off. Room was cozy, comfortable and quite. The next morning we ran by the front office to grab a quick snack before hitting the road and enjoyed muffins and bagels provided by Gills Inn & Suites. Both nights were great and I'd happily stay there again. Would highly recommend especially considering the cost.