Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Albert W.

Jamie and Al's getaway weekend

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Brenda and Mark made us feel like family. The breakfasts were extraordinary. We will be returning. Five Stars!!
5 out of 5
by Gary

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
A Great fit for a 2 day road trip
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Felt like home

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Orbitz
We really enjoyed our stay at the Inn. Brenda and Mark (the proprietors) were very welcoming and attended to our needs. The Inn's rooms will take you back in time and the grounds of the Inn were impeccable. Brenda and Mark helped my kids feel settled. Brenda cooked amazing breakfasts for all to enjoy. We would stay again.
5 out of 5
by David from Alexandria, VA

Highly recommend!!!!

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
Brenda and Mark (and their adorable dogs) were great hosts. The inn is beautifully restored and maintained. The room itself was a nice size, the bed comfortable and the bathroom recently renovated. Wifi worked well. The hosts prepared some excellent breakfasts during the stay that included locally-sourced ingredients that were clearly top quality. The hosts were also great help in providing ideas and suggestions of places to visit and things to do; their advice was very helpful in making our visit a successful and enjoyable visit. My only complaint/advice is that they only provide a little travel-sized bottle of shampoo and a small bar of soap (no conditioner, no body wash, etc) so I'd recommend bringing that stuff with you (or I'd recommend they consider installing the dispensers in the showers). My only other comment is that, as other reviews have noted, the hosts are more religious than some people might prefer (e.g., prayers at breakfast and the occasional mention of religious stuff) although, as someone who is not very religious, I never felt put upon to discuss religion or otherwise made to feel uncomfortable. The hosts have created a very welcoming environment and if I find myself planning another trip to that area, I'll definitely look here first for availability. I will also wholeheartedly recommend it to my friends and family if/when planning visits to the area.
5 out of 5
by James from Stroudsburg

Colonial Getaway

Posted Feb 20, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful inn, excellent food, gracious hosts. But a non-Christian might be a bit uncomfortable. Not to forget that it is right next to a farm.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bradford, PA

Like sleeping at mom's

Posted Dec 12, 2015
Pros: The bed was some comfort!!!
Cons: Not a thing!
Location: It's very remote feeling, but isn't far from anything.
I loved it. My mom was a quilter and loved all things country. This very much felt like being at mom's, but the bed was way more comfy! I sleep good, and work up more refreshed than I have in years! It's an awesome place!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Absolutely lovely!

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Mark and Brenda were so accommodating! The breakfasts were amazing..and Brenda helped to find us activities that would work for our little family. Wonderful peaceful..we really loved staying there! Thank you!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jim Thorpe, Pa.

Great Choice

Posted Oct 30, 2015
Our stay here was wonderful. Brenda & Mark were great hosts, our room "Grandma's" was more than adequate for 2 adults. Bed was extremely comfy, room was very clean & Brenda makes a "mean" breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pontiac, MI

Beautiful Colonial era B&B in a rural setting.

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Pros: We loved the quiet country location and the effort of the hosts to make us feel at home.
Cons: My only objection was that we had no TV in our room. Some rooms have TV, so check when you book.
Location: The area is rich with old architecture and immaculate farms and towns. There are many small shops and markets.
We had a great first Bed and Breakfast experience. We were very taken by the beauty of this old Colonial era stone house that was built over a period from the late 1700s through the early 1800s. It is set in a rural area surrounded by rolling fields and immaculate farms. It is within close distance of several small Pennsylvania towns that are rich with old colonial architecture. The area is a Mecca for photographers looking for old farm buildings in a beautiful rolling setting. Our hosts, Brenda and Mark have renovated this old stone house with modern amenities while still retaining its original character. Mark and Brenda were most gracious hosts, making us feel very welcome. They accompanied the guests at breakfast and created a very family like atmosphere making everyone feel at home. Our room was very clean and had its own bath and a comfortable bed. Although it is in a rural area they have good wireless internet. The grounds are spacious and nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sherborn, MA

Peaceful get-away in charming countryside

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: Clean, tasteful and inviting. Superb hosts!!
Location: We were busy with college tour but hope to be back to enjoy the pleasures of the beautiful countryside, antiques, quilts and history of Lancaster.
Very comfortable and tastefully decorated colonial B & B with wonderful hosts! I was in the area with my son for a college tour and fortunately stumbled upon the Brownstone Colonial Inn through Expedia. It was an easy drive into Lancaster and to the college, and provided a very relaxing base to return to. We had the Shaker Suite upstairs which was just lovely by decor and small touches. The queen size pencil post bed was stunning and offered an excellent night of sleep. My son enjoyed the privacy of the adjoining room with a large screen t.v.. We also enjoyed two delicious, fresh, homemade breakfasts with memorable servings of eggs/ham/crepes/muffins/fruit salad/potato casserole and more. Non-gluten options were available. The genuine and caring nature of the hosts, Mark and Brenda, enhanced the experience twofold.