Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovingly and beautifully restored castle

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Had a great visit to Schloss Matzen. Beautiful spot and fun property to stay in. Comfortable, beautifully decorated and Unique. There is massage available, steam and sauna but you have to schedule your usage at the front desk when you arrive. There is no staff on property at night which I think is fine at a castle. There is breakfast each morning in a lovely common area. There is a restaurant next door but it is closed on Mondays so your dinner option is in nearby towns then. There are many stairs and no elevators so keep that in mind if you have physical issues. There is a pretty park close by to walk in but no private garden at the Schloss its self. It is on a fairly busy road but still quiet in the rooms.
5 out of 5
by Peter

Beautiful Castle

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
Check in took a little bit longer than expected as there was no one at reception immediately. However, once checked in, the room was beautiful and clean. The receptionist couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. A true gem! The other rooms and areas of the hotel were stunning, including the library and tower which you MUST spend a little time in to enjoy. Although there is no restaurant attached to the hotel, we were recommended a place in town which was very nice. Breakfast was very nice. We had a bit of a nosey around the grounds which are lovely, but in the heavy snow, it wasn't easy to get around. I suspect once the snow goes, it will be beautiful though. We'll certainly try and get back there in Spring/Summer when the snow is gone.
5 out of 5
by Jared from Santa Cruz, CA

A Night at an enchating castle

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Staying at this castle was one of the highlights of our trip and if we are ever in the area again, we will certainly stay a night here again. Schloss Matzen has been very well renovated with modern amenities, while still maintaining the enchantment of staying the night in a castle. We were amazed at being able to explore the castle on our own, enjoying an evening in the library as well as taking advantage of magnificent views from the tower overlooking the Tyrol valley. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the owner of the hotel was also there and spoke to us and was very personable. We enjoyed our first night by having dinner and wine at restaurant below the castle which I would highly recommend. The breakfast at Schloss Matzen was really great and not a simple meal like you would have at a Hostel as a previous reviewer had stated. It included fresh pastries and a variety of fresh options that are more than enough to satisfy anyone. If you have the chance, I would highly recommend staying at the enchanting Schloss Matzen
5 out of 5
by Matthew from Florida

Wonderful stay at Hotel Schloss Matzen

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel. Very peaceful. Excellent finishes in the room and superior bedding. The multi-level spa was also great. Staff was very helpful, welcoming and friendly.
5 out of 5
by Nicholas from Harrisburg

1,000 year old castle

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent hotel with great and friendly staff. The Schloss hotel is beautiful and so is their spa, located in a 1,000yr old tower. They have spent much keeping the place up and it shows. A must stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Exceptional experience!

Posted Sep 6, 2015
Pros: The castle setting - amazing. The rooms - incredible. The food - sensational.
Cons: There are some stairs if thats an issue.
Location: It's about 25 mins to Innsbruck. 15 mins to closest ski resort which is a great experience to go up even in summer as the view is amazing.
This is a top class boutique hotel in a 1000 year old castle. We were blown away by the experience. The rooms are amazing and have made every effort to retain the character of the castle while making it a functional hotel room. The restaurant quality is 2nd to none - brilliant food. This is an experience you wont forget!
5 out of 5
by Rebecca from Marshfield

great stay!

Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful location. Really had a wonderful time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Superb. Lived up to the billing in every way.

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Fantastic castle - staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful
4 out of 5
by Amy S from Michigan

Beautiful place, gorgeous surroundings

Posted Oct 20, 2013 on Hotels
The castle and its refurbishments are of highest quality. The room was absolutely lovely. The details were amazing. The young lady, who is apparently Cinderella, was phenomenal. She cleaned everything, prepared the breakfast. Seemed she was always working. However, the 'lady' checking us in, was seemingly disgusted that we were to be guests. Aloof and dismissive. I would put a 2 or a 3 for the service rating if it were just regarding her. Would I stay again, absolutely. We did not partake in the restaurant so we have no comment or review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bayern

außergewöhnliches Hotel

Posted May 26, 2016
Pros: Am besten gefallen hat uns unser Zimmer inkl. Frühstück, sowie das liebevoll gestaltete Hotel mit sehr freundlichem Personal.
Cons: Es hat an nichts gefehlt.
Location: Hotel befindet sich im Inntal zwischen Kufstein und Innsbruck. In ca. 20min kann man die Swarovski Kristallwelten in Wattens erreichen.
Nach Ankunft wurden wir zu unserem Zimmer gebracht, anschließend haben wir eine kleine Schloßführung bekommen. Das Hotel macht einen sehr gepflegten Eindruck und ist mit viel Liebe zum Detail gestaltet. Wir hatten ein Superior-Doppelzimmer, welches uns sehr gut gefallen hat. Es war sehr geräumig, mit vielen historischen Einrichtungsgegenständen und allen Annehmlichkeiten eines modernen Hotels (Safe, Telefon, Flat-TV, Minibar, Bademantel, etc.). Das reichhaltige Frühstücksbüffet mit lokalen Wurst- und Käsespezialitäten aus Tirol, lies keine Wünsche offen.