Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and convienently located to hiking areas

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was fine in general, but you should be aware that it is located in a light industrial area with a McDonalds right next to it that is a bit of a teenager hangout on weekend evenings. Therefore it can be noisy. Overall, it was a good place to stay and we would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Derby

Good German Hotel in Remscheid

Posted Apr 8, 2016
An entirely pleasant business stay with no problems. Decent restaurant that opens until 10:00 pm for all the late arrivals or if you are seeking a late snack.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2016 by Nadine N., Hotel Management
Dear Morpek, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our Mercure Hotel Remscheid. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback for us, thank you. We are looking forward welcoming you soon again and that your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Nadine N. Guest Relation
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

A terrible experience

Posted Sep 18, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Management training
Location: On an industrial area .Only a Macdonalds in the vicinity. There is a bus stop a short walk away, up hill.
Terrible hotel. I booked a room with a double bed and was given 2 single beds. I stayed for 6 days and for three of those days the room was not made up.The carpet was eventually hoovered on the day before I left, The staff on reception were rude and uncaring.When I reported that my room had not been made up, on the first occasion, the receptionist said "So?". She could not have cared less about the guests! I asked if the room would be cleaned the following morning, and her answer was "I don't know". The third day I arrived back at the hotel, to find I was locked out of the room, and had to go back to reception, where I was reviewed on three computers, before having my key reissued. When in the shower, on my third morning, I found my full shower gel had been removed. I reported it to reception, but it was not replaced until day before leaving. The whole experience was a daily mis-management of some sort. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I am returning to Remscheid on a regular basis, but I shall not be staying in this hotel again!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business trip

Posted May 4, 2015 on Hotels
An excellent business hotel with clean rooms and excellant staff. Restaurat and bar ok.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business Trip

Posted Mar 2, 2015 on Hotels
Good business class hotel., convenient for the A1 motorway, bar - restaurant is ok, excellent breakfast, clean rooms, just want you need to get set for the day.
3 out of 5
by Stephan from Chicago

1st time good not great

Posted Jan 14, 2015 on Hotels
The room was small, I couldn't get in the chair at the desk it was so close to the side if the bed. Beds are clean but seemed very low to the floor made getting in and out uncomfortable. The bar is great and the breakfast is quite good but expensive.
4 out of 5
by Robert from Leeds

Overnight Business Trip

Posted Nov 16, 2014 on Hotels
If you are arriving late make sure you've eaten or its MCD's next door only. Did not serve food late. Other than that pretty good.
2 out of 5
by harryw from so pasadena

outrageously priced breakfast 16 euro.

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Plain, simple.
Cons: Staff not well trained. No instruction on which wifi network to use. The one with the hotel name is not the one.
Location: Nothing.
So so business hotel. Charged parking. Receptionist told us breakfast were included. We were billed euro 32 for two simple breakfast. There was a McDonald next door. Off autobahn, but in residential / industrial area. Be aware of the low ball price. No service.
4 out of 5
by Mike

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 23, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smoking room

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels
I booked non smoking room but this hotel gave me smoking room since non smoking rooms were occupied even I booked non-smoking room. I cant believe this..