Ratings based on 500 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dog tolerant not dog friendly

Posted Nov 3, 2017
We booked this hotel specifically on the basis of dog friendliness. There was no hint of this on arrival, no dog treats, water bowls, nothing. We were made to eat separately for breakfasts and supper, infact they booked us in to a separate room for supper, one which holds 80 people. When we got there the staff were eating there and knew nothing of this arrangement. The staff continuously quoted a law in Scotland excluding dogs from eating areas, this was merely their interpretation of the law. A stressful stay, a very 'top show' hotel. Would not recommend a stay here. Mr & Mrs Parke
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Food was terrible service was nn existent ang didn't seem to care when we complained. Never staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Lovely hotel but spoiled by charges

Posted Oct 18, 2017
We have visited Gleddoch twice before. Once before their renovations and once during the renovations so it was nice to return once all finished. It has been refurbished to a high standard and is a lovely hotel. The rooms are clean, stylish and spacious. The staff are pleasant. Our only complaint is the new pre-authorisation charge. We previously stayed in April and enjoyed it so much we booked in July to stay in the October school holidays with our children. Upon check in, we were asked to provide a card for a pre authorisation charge of £100 per night. Despite the fact we had paid in full in July for our accomodation. This was not fully explained to us and the staff member didn't seem to fully understand it either. When we realised this meant that £400 was now frozen in our account, we were confused and annoyed. My husband spoke to the manager who said it was in their terms and conditions. It was for any charges made to our room. We explained that we had not planned on spending all of our time in the hotel. My husband argued that as we had booked in July and these terms and conditions had only come into effect in September that we should have been made aware. The manager agreed to cancel the charges, however, it still took 3 days to clear and that money only became available to us on the day we checked out! It put a damper on our holiday as we had not budgetted for £400 not being available to us to spend that week. It basically doubled the cost of our holiday.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lacking atmosphere

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Clean and comfortable.
Cons: Breakfast. Keep it hot!
Location: Very remote.
Decent hotels in this area of Scotland at a good price are few and far between, so I booked months ago to ensure value for money. All I can say is that it was okay, but I did feel a bit lonely and isolated, staying as I was, for three nights whilst I was working at the Scotland Boat Show. I can fault the room as the bed was very comfortable and everything was clean. But the hotel just lacked a bit of soul. The bar area was a bit clinical, and the food in the restaurant, whilst good, was quite expensive and they really could have done with a cheaper bar menu. What I could not understand however, was that I was first at breakfast on the Sunday morning and yet all of the items on the buffet were stone cold. Surely a pre-requisite of having a hot buffet breakfast is to, well, keep the food at least warm?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful

Posted Oct 2, 2017
beautiful hotel, enjoyed the pool, large room, great front desk staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Family break

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Lovely stay. No complaints at all apart from quite expensive for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississauga, ON Canada

Quite location close to Glasgow Airport

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, recent renovations, spacious rooms
Location: Quiet location 10 to 15 minutes to Airport. Easy drive to Loch Lomond and the little village of Luss.
Lovely hotel recently renovated. Hotel and restaurant staff were very accommodating. Had trouble flushing toilet which seemed to need priming. Hair dryer had no heat. Other than that, Gleddoch provided the perfect finish to our vacation in Scotland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cardiff

Great hotel for a weekend getaway.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Great hotel. Clean and comfortable. Standard breakfast considering the price. Wonderful pool, jacuzzi and spa facilities. The bathrooms might be due for a small upgrade and TLC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Nice Country Club Hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Facilities and being Dog friendly
Nice Country Club Hotel with great facilities and stunning views over the River Clyde and the hills beyond. Hotel is Dog Friendly too (at an extra nightly charge).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Beautiful setting

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: The rooms were well-appointed, and we were happy to have several USB ports to recharge all our devices.
Cons: The restaurant was a bit pricey and the dinner menu didn't have many options that were to our liking. Breakfast was good.
This was a very comfortable hotel even for non-golfers. The indoor pool and spa were a definite draw. The location was very scenic.