Ratings based on 471 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from ayrshire

lovely hotel. staff were brilliant.

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: Everything was perfect.
Cons: Breakfast buffet could be hotter.
Location: The location is tucked away in countryside but was easy to drive into nearby town and get the train into Glasgow.Views from the hotel were stunnig
IF you want to escape a busy life,this hotel is ideal. We went for a two day break for golf and spa. The hotel was immaculate and the staff extremely friendly.The spa was lovely and the swimming pool was warm,and never too busy. We had breakfast and dinner and the only downside was that hot breakfast buffet was warm rather than hot.We will be booking again for another relaxing break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fife

Excellent stay!!

Posted Jul 31, 2017
What a fantastic stay we had! The hotel is stunning, room was a good size, very clean, loved the elemis toiletries! The pool was good, my kids especially enjoyed the pool as we had it to ourselves! Breakfast was great. I can not fault this hotel. Would definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and views

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Location and leisure facilities
Cons: Housekeeping and catering
Location: Great for Western Scotland, Loch Lomond and Trossachs
This hotel could be so much better than it is. The location and views from the hotel are great. However, housekeeping is poor. Corridors are grubby, and room was not made up when we returned at 4pm on day 1 of our visit. The room was comfortable but the sink was cracked as was one of the mirrored wardrobe doors and the window vent was damaged and just left lying on the window sill. Also the replenishment of soap, shampoo, tea, coffee, biscuits etc in the room was sadly lacking. The bar served meals but could not provide a menu and the restaurant menu was limited. For the price I would expect a pot of tea or coffee at breakfast, not tea and coffee from a pump-flask. The staff are polite and friendly but it is the little things that bring the overall approval rating down. Currently not worth what we paid but could be if it was better managed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Quiet Country Hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Can't comment here since only stayed one night and did not have a meal here or use the spa.
Location: Beautiful setting overlooking the Firth of Forth. Spa and golf available on site.
We had a one night stay in a family room at Gleddoch Country Club on our way north on our annual holiday. I can recommend this hotel because it was quiet, clean and in a beautiful country setting overlooking the Firth of Clyde. It was a good start to our holiday. It was especially appreciated being able to accommodate our dog at the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Preston

Comfortable hotel with good river views

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Large comfortable bedroom,attractive river views,but you need a car for access.
Cons: Breakfast only average,no menu on busy days and staff do not provide adequate information about what's available.
Location: Good train link,(station a mile away) to Glasgow 30 mins. Road access to Clyde valley and Ayrshire coast.
Good location, high quality room, but indifferent breakfast service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Argyll and Bute

Disappointed to say the least

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Appeared ultra chic and decor tasteful
Cons: What can one do with a room opposite an air conditioning unit?
Location: At top of very steep hill and some considerable distance from main road. Views good. Only stayed one night so did not use spa facilities
Room 40. Radiator in bathroom full on. Control valve stuck with paint. Coffee cups dirty and one with a very long hair in it. Spoons dirty. NO hangers for clothes. Window capable of being opened , however this room is within yards of an industrial air conditioning unit serving the building, so very very noisy. Window had to stay closed , making room stifling hot. Bathroom tiling peppered with holes and rawl plugs
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Creaking Floor Overhead

Posted May 28, 2017
We had so much noise from the room above because the floor creaked relentlessy, goodness knows what the people in the room above were doing but the noise really spoilt our stay. We did mention it to the staff but nothing happened, such a shame but we won't stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel.in lovely grounds

Posted May 24, 2017
I got a good deal and booked this hotel. What can I say it is the most beautiful hotel I have stayed in Scotland. The scenery is amazing. The rooms spacious and beautifully decorated. We got a super king room and the bed was huge. The steam room jacuzzi sauna were wonderful and the pool was a good size. Our room overlooked the river and the outside hot tub. Wonderful views. Staff very friendly. It was a relaxing and peaceful 2 night break. Will defiantly return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great views

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel and staff are great. Lots of renovations happening though, so some disruption in terms of all areas being open and equipment left around. Seriously impressive views though
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Great Hotel, Amazing Views

Posted May 8, 2017
Great stay will definitely be stopping again! Staff members are friendly and helpful. Room was well equipped and clean