Ratings based on 509 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dog tolerant not dog friendly

Posted Nov 3, 2017
We booked this hotel specifically on the basis of dog friendliness. There was no hint of this on arrival, no dog treats, water bowls, nothing. We were made to eat separately for breakfasts and supper, infact they booked us in to a separate room for supper, one which holds 80 people. When we got there the staff were eating there and knew nothing of this arrangement. The staff continuously quoted a law in Scotland excluding dogs from eating areas, this was merely their interpretation of the law. A stressful stay, a very 'top show' hotel. Would not recommend a stay here. Mr & Mrs Parke
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Food was terrible service was nn existent ang didn't seem to care when we complained. Never staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Lovely hotel but spoiled by charges

Posted Oct 18, 2017
We have visited Gleddoch twice before. Once before their renovations and once during the renovations so it was nice to return once all finished. It has been refurbished to a high standard and is a lovely hotel. The rooms are clean, stylish and spacious. The staff are pleasant. Our only complaint is the new pre-authorisation charge. We previously stayed in April and enjoyed it so much we booked in July to stay in the October school holidays with our children. Upon check in, we were asked to provide a card for a pre authorisation charge of £100 per night. Despite the fact we had paid in full in July for our accomodation. This was not fully explained to us and the staff member didn't seem to fully understand it either. When we realised this meant that £400 was now frozen in our account, we were confused and annoyed. My husband spoke to the manager who said it was in their terms and conditions. It was for any charges made to our room. We explained that we had not planned on spending all of our time in the hotel. My husband argued that as we had booked in July and these terms and conditions had only come into effect in September that we should have been made aware. The manager agreed to cancel the charges, however, it still took 3 days to clear and that money only became available to us on the day we checked out! It put a damper on our holiday as we had not budgetted for £400 not being available to us to spend that week. It basically doubled the cost of our holiday.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lacking atmosphere

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Clean and comfortable.
Cons: Breakfast. Keep it hot!
Location: Very remote.
Decent hotels in this area of Scotland at a good price are few and far between, so I booked months ago to ensure value for money. All I can say is that it was okay, but I did feel a bit lonely and isolated, staying as I was, for three nights whilst I was working at the Scotland Boat Show. I can fault the room as the bed was very comfortable and everything was clean. But the hotel just lacked a bit of soul. The bar area was a bit clinical, and the food in the restaurant, whilst good, was quite expensive and they really could have done with a cheaper bar menu. What I could not understand however, was that I was first at breakfast on the Sunday morning and yet all of the items on the buffet were stone cold. Surely a pre-requisite of having a hot buffet breakfast is to, well, keep the food at least warm?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful

Posted Oct 2, 2017
beautiful hotel, enjoyed the pool, large room, great front desk staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Family break

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Lovely stay. No complaints at all apart from quite expensive for us.
4 out of 5
by John

Posted Sep 14, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay here. Staff was friendly spa was great pool area clean and comfy. Views were amazing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and restful location

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Orbitz
A wonderful place to stay! The only reason I didn't give all 5 stars is because the room didn't have air-conditioning and we stayed during a heat wave.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gleddoch Hotel - September 2017

Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Hotels
A very nice stay in a very nice complex. A little confusion regarding providing a bank card as a guarantee (Always use a Credit Card) on booking in but overall it was an excellent stay. Staff were friendly and the complex containing the restaurant and Spa/Gym & Swimming Pool was excellent. Only criticism was the restricted menu with limited choices which resulted in us eating out during our stay rather than staying in the Hotel. Needs a Bar Menu and a separate Restaurant Menu to provide variety which would cater for everyone who are staying.
5 out of 5
by Peter

Peter bsuiness trip to Glasgow

Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Hotels
Very welcoming staff, stunning location, lovely views of the Clyde from the restaurant, tasty food, real nice breakfast, comfortable and quiet rooms. Although on business, a great place to unwind and focus on the day that has been and the one that is coming. My second time here and I will be back. What are you waiting for - book it.........