Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Fantastic gem. Feel like a noble person. View from the hotel is also nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
It was amazing stay and food was really good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Nice Accommodations, but note some limitations

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: The rooms are magnificent. The staff was very professional.
Cons: The website should note that the kitchen is closed on Mondays.
Location: The location is some distance from Rennes.
This is a lovely old castle with charming rooms and a wonderful staff. The service was very professional and breakfast was quite nice. But be aware of some limitations; First, the hotel is some distance from Rennes. Getting there and back from the train station is a long cab ride. Plan to have dinner and breakfast there, since there is really no close alternative. Second, the hotel dining room is closed on Mondays - although we were told (Tuesday morning) that a light supper from room service would have been available. (No mention was made of that on the Monday we visited.) Third, the fare for a cab ride to the closest restaurant and back to the hotel will be about 50 Euros. The meter starts with the cab leaves Rennes. Maybe a small annoyance, but an unpleasant surprise. Same problem in getting a cab back to the train station in Rennes - which doubles the expected fare. In summary, staying there was a wonderful experience. Just note the limitations.
4 out of 5
by Mrs J A from GY

Peaceful treat

Posted Jan 27, 2016 on Hotels
Overnight quiet family meal in the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ceauce, France

Great place for a wedding anniversary.

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: It is unique and like staying in a fairy tale castle.
Cons: The restaurant was closed on Sundays and Mondays so had to eat out.
Location: Found a lovely lake to walk around and a brilliant restaurant/bistro L'Atles not far from the Chateau for a truly memorable anniversary dinner.
We had a fabulous stay at the Chateau and were made to feel very welcome and special and even received an anniversary gift of a quality bottle of wine gift wrapped and a card too...a wonderful surprise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Amazing

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Everything.
This place is amazing. The rooms were elegant and the service was superior. Unfortunately we couldn't stay longer to enjoy the surroundings. I would recommend this place to anyone in the area looking for a relaxing place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ev from Tucson, AZ, USA

We enjoyed our stay

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Pros: everything
Cons: tell people which building they will be in. Coffee pots in rooms
Location: Large town of Rennes-we didn't go there. We visited Saint Michel one day-incredible. Lots of steps and walking-go at 9. 8000 peop a day
We didn't know our room wouldn't actually be in the chateau. We were placed in a separate building, so it was a little disappointing. But ours was a/c and it was hot, so it turned out ok. 5 star restaurant, good staff. Some speak English well. It wouldn't be convenient if you didn't have a car. Room and chateau decorated beautifully. Gorgeous, manicured lawns.
5 out of 5
by Mikef from Leeds

Excellent Stay

Posted Jul 7, 2013 on Hotels
Wonderful stay in great hotel. Quality of restaurant and food exceptional. I would definitely recommend this hotel . Upgrade to chateau room if you can
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sabah, Malaysia

Great chateau, but bring a bottle

Posted Dec 12, 2011
Lovely castle, well-appointed rooms, excellent service, but grossly overpriced wines!
5 out of 5
by Lisa from Aix en provence

Voyage affaires

Posted Jun 23, 2015 on Hotels
Court mais dans un cadre magnifique