Ratings based on 221 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodstock UK

First time-but not the last....!

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: See above
Very different from the previous stopping off point:cool,calm,quiet. Good for visiting coast and countryside. Easy access from autoroute.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great price and a comfortable stay.

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here because if the price ( very reasonable) and the proximity to the city centre ( we were cycling). We were pleasantly surprised by the quality and facilities of the hotel. The Breakfast room/breakfast was particularly good, with good bread and pastries, and FRESH orange juice. The staff were helpful and we had a garage behind the hotel to store our bikes in, we would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
by colin from Rugby

Great stopover hotel on the outskirts of the city

Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
A clean, simple hotel in a good city area. Local transport is nearby but possible to walk into the city centre in 15mins. I loved the quirky retro decor! Breakfast was plentiful and delicious!
4 out of 5
by Gerald from Lower Hutt, New Zealand

Ok overnight stay hotel, a bit of a character hote

Posted Feb 19, 2016 on Hotels
2 nights transit only, clean and tidy and ok facilities, small room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Kooky & affordable!

Posted Jul 1, 2015 on Wotif
This is a great place to stay when travelling on a budget. The rooms are priced fairly for what you will find at this kooky hotel: Comfortable beds, uncomfortable (but perfectly useable) bathrooms, & a nice big window. The decor of the rooms is dated but in a rather charming comical way. And the landings have great little historical installations... strange but true! And quite fun to check out. The hotel bar is another fascinating mish mash of French themes, and they have an outdoor picnic table nicely located under a tree that you can use (if you're travelly on a budget like us & trying to create some meals from the supermarket). The hotel is a bit of a walk from Rennes charming city centre, I would say 25minutes at a cracking pace or 40 minutes at a relaxed pace, but that was just fine for us. And there is also frequent & reliable public transport into the centre pretty much on the hotels doorstep. The staff were courteous and friendly, we enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay

Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
Really lovely hotel. Quirky. Excellent room. Super breakfast. Staff very helpful. Not too far from city centre. On bus route. Quiet. Good value for money.
3 out of 5
by MrsMak from Devon

Not so smily

Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels
The room was clean and comfortable, though small, with compact but clean and adequate en suite. We had to search for pillows in the cupboard and found two mismatched ones but the bed itself was very comfortable. It didn't really affect our one-night stay that the "balcony" was just a railing right outside the sliding doors which substituted for windows, and the "garden view" was actually across a road to a building site (you could see the very nice planted strip right outside the hotel if you looked down), but I don't see the point of giving a misleading description- it just irritates. The worst thing was the off-handedness of the man who checked us in - I'd make some allowances because my usually OK French was slipping a bit after a long journey and he was rather quietly-spoken, but I felt that repeating the room number while pointing at the key and then leaving us to find the room ourselves without any attempt at directions was not the best service. This was made up for a little by the helpfulness of the lady on duty at breakfast the next day, and the said gentleman had cheered up a little when I checked out, but it wasn't a great start. Some will find it a bit of a distance to get to the centre, but we are keen walkers and it only took us 25 minutes; the buses appeared to offer a good service but we didn't use them.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from poullaouen, france

Very good budget hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2014
We stayed for 2 nights September 2014, the hotel was very clean, had free parking and wifi. we were able to walk along the canal to the city centre in about 20 minutes, a lovely walk. The area was very quiet and relaxed.
5 out of 5
by Marie en France

Quirky little hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels
Enjoyable stay in a strange little hotel, complete with life size mannequins along the landings. It was full of old memorabilia which was fun and the rooms resembled a cabin on a ship. Room small but perfectly acceptable for a two night stay. Any longer and it might have been a bit claustrophobic. Good parking, no charge and easy access to bus route into town. Wifi easily available, at no extra charge in room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Katie from Minnesota

Great hotel in Rennes suburb

Posted Dec 11, 2012
Pros: Price, Staff, Wifi, Free parking
I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It was clean and decorated with vintage pictures and furniture that was neat. The staff was super friendly and helpful to us. The hotel has free wifi, free parking, and the breakfast is under 8 euro which is really reasonable for breakfast. It's about a 25-30 minute walk to the city center or there is a bus stop only a block away. We had rented a car so the free parking at the hotel was awesome and being out from the city worked well for us. We liked being in a more quiet neighborhood. The downsides to this hotel were that the rooms were very small (but it is Europe, so that is to be somewhat expected) so we had pretty much enough room for the two of us and our bags. There seemed to be a miscommunication and the hotel only thought we had one person staying instead of two so other rooms are probably a bit more spacious for that. Another thing is the plumbing is really loud. We stayed on the top floor so it wasn't a problem, but I couldn't help thinking the lower floors might get the brunt of this noise. Even with these minor things, the hotel was great and I would definitely recommend it.