Ratings based on 5,377 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I feel like I slept with my face in an ashtray

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Pros: Overall, the Atlantis seems to be one of the nicer properties in Reno. That's why I found our individual treatment so disappointing.
Cons: The Atlantis should set aside a block of rooms or floors where smoking is not allowed and formally make this a "room type."
I think it's astonishing that given all we know about cigarette smoke, you still can't book a smoke-free room at the Atlantis. Sure, you can REQUEST a smoke-free room, but there's no guarantee you'll get it. My wife and I are not overly picky travelers, but we do our best to avoid hotels and motels that allow smoking in the rooms. Obviously the Atlantis is a casino hotel and there's smoking all over the place, so we requested a non-smoking room and verified with the front desk that our request had been granted. When we checked in last night I happily signed a document saying we'd be charged a couple hundred bucks if we smoked in the room, #1853. When we opened the door a few minutes later we were overwhelmed by the smell of cigarette smoke, and it wasn't the fault of some rogue smoker who had broken the rules. The hotel had thoughtfully placed an ashtray and book of matches on the bathroom vanity (picture attached), so clearly this was a room where smoking was allowed and maybe even encouraged. The Atlantis had also messed up the room type-- we had a confirmation for a king bed for which we had paid extra but found a couple of queens instead. I immediately went back downstairs to tell the front desk this room wasn't what we wanted or paid for. The clerk said the Atlantis was fully booked and there was nothing she could do. I then asked for a rate adjustment to reflect the hotel's mistakes. She said I should take it up with Expedia, so here I am.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sleeping Beauty

Posted Jun 10, 2017
The room was very nice and had the 1 BIG bed all to myself. Slept. like an 😇 Thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Davis, CA

A great weekday stay.

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Good weekday rates, quality furnishings, cooperative and friendly staff. Also had enough non-smoking areas to keep us feeling fresh.
Cons: Nothing
Location: There are several art galleries and event locations nearby.
The two of us wanted a nice weekday stay up in the mountains, and hadn't been in Reno for years. We arrived for the check-in at the Atlantis and breezed through the process with the check-in clerk, who was pleasant and friendly. We knew about the additional charges (resort fee and tourist tax, read the fine print first!). We had reserved a luxe tower room which was exactly like the picture, and far more comfortable and quiet than we had hoped. The room had a Bose radio and up to date TV. The wi-fi was quick and easy to access. The bedding was comfortable and there was a nice loves eat couch to relax on. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from, so we ate on the Sky Terrace and had sushi, very well done, with an excellent waiter. Service during our stay was friendly and attentive no matter what part of the property we were in. Downtown Reno was preparing for a biker rally, which we didn't want to attend, so the Atlantis location farther south was a better choice for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great hotel

Posted May 26, 2017
Beautiful hotel and child friendly. Great kids area and amazing buffet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: the workers and the room
I enjoyed my stay. Everyone was helpful and could not have been nicer. I will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Great hotel/Casino/restaurant close to airport

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Convenience to the airport, upscale quality, great and friendly staff, great array of gambling opportunities and a supper restaurant.
Cons: keep the high quality going
Location: Lake Tahoe. Virginia City, Truckee and Carson City..seasonal sports skiing and hiking
Following vac in Tahoe and 6am flight, decided to stay at a hotel close to airport and turn in car rental the day before and take the hotel shuttle in the morning. The Atlantis exceeded our expectations and needs. We found an upscale facility with great dining at the Steak House Restaurant to celebrate our anniversary. The staff could not have been more accommodative and the Atlantis experience topped off a great Lake Tahoe vacation. Would go back to make the Atlantis the focal point of our next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Valley, CA

Casino Life

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: The bed, the restaurants were good, the price was outstanding. The sports book was friendly. The workout facilities are good and the pools are nice.
Cons: Nice much, it's casino living and it's decent just remember that smoking is allowed on the casino floor and you will be fine.
Location: Don't have much to say here because I only stayed one night and the casino offered everything I needed.
Room was decent, a bit gaudy for my tastes. Probably were the color schemes of the counter tops/floor The walk from the elevators to my room was long. Stayed one night, bed was very comfortable and the pillows were excellent. Placed a bet downstairs and won, so when I went to the main cashier to get my money, it took 10 minutes for the cashier to get logged in, whatever. I don't mind waiting but the overall rudeness of the cashier herself was the kicker and pair that with her broken language.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
Older hotel if you stay in the first tower. I would upgrade to the taller towers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: How welcoming everyone was and the up to date rooms.
Cons: NIghtlights in the bathrooms.
The staff in all areas made us feel welcome. The rooms were very clean and up to date.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KC

Great view of the snow capped mountains.

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: The staff was great and very helpful when addressed.
Cons: Make the website more understanding as to what you get in your room.
Location: 30 minutes from Boating, Water Skiing or Snow Skiing, depending on the year and 30 minutes from Lake Tahoe, one of the most beautiful sites ever.
Everything was great, but pictures were a little misleading when we made the reservations and for what we paid for the room we feel we should have had a few extra amenities.