Ratings based on 5,072 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Great Time At the El Dorado

Posted May 22, 2017
When we checked in we were told that we were given a free upgrade for our room. They put us in a Players Suite and the rest of our stay was the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great old school feel casino

Posted May 19, 2017
Great gambling and great rooms. In Las Vegas the old school casinos are filthy - the El Dorado is super clean and a great time. I was very impressed and will return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

So-so hotel

Posted May 16, 2017
Hotel has a new and old section. We were assigned a room in the old section which needs serious renovation. Anyone can tell it's from the late 80s design. We had friends staying at the facility at the same time and everybody's non-smoking room had a faint smell of cigarettes. They need to think about raising their shower heads. Height is perfect if you're 3'6" tall. Made for interesting showers. Some staff members are OK but more of them were not. So, if you still want to stay here, maybe think about asking for a room in the new section. Finally, if you have a car, don't move it until you leave. Finding another spot should you decide to go dinner away from the hotel is darn near impossible. Or stay between Tuesday and Thursday. Presumably, they may have enough spaces to accommodate hotel guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Volleyball

Posted May 16, 2017
Too short . Only there for volleyball meet. Will stay again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Great Staff; Comfortable Room; Awesome Restaurants

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Awesome staff; clean room; great restaurants.
Cons: Nothing, really.
Location: Virginia City is a short 30-minute drive and is a really fun little town.
We spent three nights at the El Dorado and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The hotel staff were so friendly and helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. We ate at several of the restaurants throughout the property and always had a great meal and good service. We had the breakfast buffet twice and it was so much better than any of the breakfast buffets we've eaten at in Las Vegas. Plus, the buffet price was fantastic.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Smokey and a parking nightmare

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Close to UNR.
Cons: See above
Didn't matter if there was only smoking allowed in the casino area, we still smelled it in our room. Lobby was horrible. Hey, it's a casino...my mistake. Parking was horrific. Free, but what's the point if you have to drive up and down 10 levels to find a space. I can't believe I had to then pay a resort fee for that. Our room was clean, except for two things...the shower head was shorter than me. I am 5'4"!!!!! Was this room for a dwarf? Also I didn't realize condoms were complimentary. They were in our room. I guess I have higher standards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Casino layout confusing. Eliminate resort fee and be honest about room cost. Bad minibar system that uses the only refrigerator.
Used casino and visited Lake Tahoe. Generally pleasant. Tough part of town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2017
Nice hotel was under remodel so some things were a bit of a mess.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in downtown Reno.

Posted May 12, 2017
Very comfortable, many outstanding restaurants in the hotel, airport shuttle, very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Goo choice

Posted May 12, 2017
Hotel was nice, clean, and comfortable. Had the player spa suite and wasn't disappointed.