Ratings based on 4,788 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from n

$22 Resort fee....added.... and it's only a hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Rooms are... old need updates ... toilet loose and leaking.. .lamps are broken light fixtures in disarray.......
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New England

Not a bad hotel overall but not the nicest in Reno

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: The service was good in the restaurants we tried, the prime rib restaurant was very good, as was the Brew Brothers pub. Staff was polite, responsive.
Cons: There are several state taxes tacked onto your bill when you check out, wasn't told about them in advance so they came as an unpleasant surprise.
Location: We were there for the air races so we didn't spend much time in downtown Reno but from what we saw coming and going the casinos are about it in Reno.
A friend and I were in Reno for the National Air Races, neither of us are gamblers so we picked the El Dorado on the recommendation of someone who used to live in Reno. The hotel was fine, room was clean and comfortable and there's a wide choice of restaurants on site. We were there for 8 days so I had ample chance to get to know the place! As said, I don't gamble so can't comment on the casinos, the hotel itself was ok, a bit worn to the point of almost being seedy looking. And the entire place smelled of smoke because smoking is allowed in the casino. We actually walked through the Silver Legacy resort which is attached to the El Dorado and owned by the same company, it was much nicer than the El Dorado, beautiful lobby, stores, restaurants, if I were to go back I would stay there. The Silver Legacy brings to mind the nicer hotel casino's not he strip in Vegas while the El Dorado is more like the smaller, less impressive ones just off the strip. Also the airport shuttle for the El Dorado was supposed to run on the half hour (all the others run every 15 minutes) yet I stood at the curb waiting for it for over an hour, my friend came in from another city and he had the same experience. We both ended up having to call the resort to ask when the shuttle was going to show up. My room was nice, clean bathroom, typical mid-range hotel room, I lived in it for 8 days and it was fine. Over all not a bad place but if the price is close I would opt for the Silver Legacy instead.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern Oregon

Good spot for the Reno activities.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Restaurants were excellent, but make reservations. We had some lousy soup from room service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington State

In the center of old Reno

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Location to gaming
Cons: Like it just like it is.
Location: Visit the Harrah's Auto museum, attend the, have a great Kosher deli sandwich at the Atlantis and don't miss the Island Buffet at the Peppermill
The Eldorado and Silver Legacy are standby hotels in downtown Reno. Although they are showing their age, they are comfortable and have good restaurants. First time visitors just need to accept the poor, mentally ill, drug addicted and homeless denizens surrounding the downtown hotels. Fear not, for they are just part of the atmosphere we've come to enjoy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reno Air Races

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Centrally located
Cons: Needs an upgrade
I would probably stay here again if we go to the Reno Air Races next year. The Shuttle bus picked us up right down stairs which was convenient.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IN

Nice hotel, centrally located..

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Liked security at elevator doors. All staff was helpful with everything we needed.
Cons: Good stay, can't think of anything.
Location: Located downtown. Within walking distance of Riverwalk, convention center and other hotels and casinos.
Hotel and staff were welcoming. Beds were comfortable, room was clean. Had prime rib dinner at steak restaurant. Excellent salad bar and food.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice Hotel in the middle of town.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: comfortable beds
Location: Different casinos all around, easy access to the freeway and it seems everything like restaurants and shopping are close by.
The cafe had good food, clean and courteous service and was open when we needed food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lewiston, Idaho

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Sushi & Saki restaurant/bar, staff were over and above friendly. Great time...
I loved the easy indoor access to other casino's.. Wished there were more "Reno" items to choose from in the gift shop.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bay area ca

nice hotel 2 blocks from train station

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: resturants and poker room
Cons: loose the annoying lounge music that blasts all over the entire casino floor in the evening and pipe individual music to the different lounges.
Location: attached to Eldorado is silver legacy and circus circus. every sept go to reno air races.
once a year I like to take a train trip to reno the last two years I have stayed at the Eldorado. my room was a two queen on the tenth floor. the room is comfortable and served my needs fine, of all the hotels and places to eat down town i think the Eldorado has the most to offer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Te same as its competitors in Reno

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: It has a pool. Easy access to parking from the rooms. Easy highway access. Right in the heart of the casino action.
Cons: New mattresses in the rooms. Both queens in the room were higher on one side than the other. (Worn out). Get rid of the weight sensitive snack tray.
Location: Easy access too everything. Need 2 speed cart racing is a fun activity nearby that we enjoyed while in Reno. Convenient shuttle service to the airport
No different than others in Reno but a few dollars more. It does have a small pool that is nice. Motel cleaning staff was loud in the hallways while we were trying to sleep mid morning. Room service for a cup of soup took almost an hour. Weight sensitive snack tray in room kept sending false charges to my bill. At least four times. Hotel was OK reversing the charge but you had to be looking for it on your bill. Good hotel security. You had to show a room key to access the elevator.