Ratings based on 11,229 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ATL

Near RNO airport

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Very close to RNO airport and security seems very good.
Cons: Lower floor rooms could use an update.
Most people would stay at the GSR for the casino, but I was in Reno on business. I have stayed at the GSR many times and find it a good value for the cost.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Casino smoke not evident in rooms.

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Nice accommodations Excellent restaurants.
Cons: Smoke smell in casino.
Location: Hotel is remote if you have no car, with little to do if you don't care to gamble.
The room was excellently appointed and there was no evidence of smoke smell in the unit. King bed, sofa, two chairs, desk, mini frig and a microwave along with o rovided tea and coffee made for a very comfortable night's stay. Mandatory resort fee of over $25 is difficult to understand as few services are provided for the high fee.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Midwest

Good room, good location, close to airport

Posted May 25, 2017
Was in town on business and for a conference at the hotel. Pool was under construction but we still had to pay $20/day Resort Fee. Would rate the facilities higher if we weren't forced to pay a resort fee for the "resort" that we couldn't use.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston

Great stay

Posted May 24, 2017
Clean easy to get to convenient for what I was doing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2017
The hotel exceeded my expectations and I would stay there everytime! Hotel was clean there was so much to do. Very family friendly
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Rude staff unwilling to help solve issues!

Posted May 22, 2017
Staff was very rude it took over an hour for our baggage to get from our room to the car and they were very unhelpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Quick easy check in. Nice casino. Nice room.

Posted May 20, 2017
Quick easy check in. Nice casino. Not too crowded. Nice room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

The Best in Reno

Posted May 19, 2017
I actually missed my stay. A day before we were to leave my fiance was involved in and accident putting her in the hospital. Being more concerned about her I never contacted the hotel until a full week after my expected stay. The hotel, although not having to do so, refunded my entire room fee. this may be just one cowboys opinion but that's the mark of true professionalism and what my grand dad would call "THE COWBOY WAY" Thank you Grand Sierra Hotel! This cowboy will never stay anywhere else but your hotel whenever in town. Your a class act.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Over Booking Mess from GSR

Posted May 18, 2017
Cons: Expedia should address the issues of over booking mentioned above with GSR. Please do get back to me with a follow up update.
Reached their after a long drive from SF Bay area with kids and were told, that the room , we had booked was not available (Non-Smoking, 2 Queen beds). We were given a choice to either move into a Smoking room, which was not an option for us, specially with kids or told to cancel the book and look for other options with other hotels. This is lousy customer service and very arrogant of the management and front desk staff. After a lot of back and forth, we were offer a one king bed option with a roll on bed for the kids, and was told by front desk staff that this was an upgrade and some how we should be thankful to them. The bell hop, we brought our bags up to our room, then mentioned that, the hotel had over sold our room type by 44 rooms, as it was a mother's day weekend and are trying to bump many customers, as they are completely out of rooms, by either trying to charge customers more for upgrades rooms instead of comping them, or try to get them cancel their reservations. This is a very lousy strategy from your partner resort and even after mentioning that, our booking was through Expedia and we had paid for the room, weeks in advanced, it just drew a smirk from the front desk manager and told us that, we can talk to Expedia and it does not bother them. They just make promises about the room type but do not guarantee any thing. But they took our money with disregard to our booking request.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Campbell, CA.

Not a good 1st time at GSR.

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: The steak house was astonishing! Was pleased to discover the bowling alley & in-house movie theater. Good breakfast selection at the buffet.
Cons: GSR representative should contact guests ahead of time if they are to be moved from a Non-Smoking room & into a smoking room.
Location: WalMart conveniently located very nearby.
Originally I reserved a non-smoking room at GSR. After the 5hr drive from CA to Reno, the check-in clerk discovered that I was moved into a smoking room. Compensated with $100 'food-comp' at any GSR dinning area. Well I was tired & hungry from the long drive, so I accepted. BAD DECISION. The smoke scent was so thick in the room it affected my allergies. My room faced the pool that was under heavy construction, so I was woken up by the sounds of heavy machinery & construction sounds every morning. Poor wifi quality. I would've greatly appreciated if a GSR representative would have contacted me ahead of time about the room change. That way I could've made other arrangements at another location. I reserved a room at GSR based on good recommendation by family members who have stayed there before. Apparently their experiences there were far better than mine. I'm more than likely not going to stay at GSR in the future.