Ratings based on 11,949 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Concord, CA

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 16, 2017
We loved everything about the hotel....the beds were super comfy, the huge walk-in shower was amazing...the gaming was great and spread out instead of crammed together. We had dinner at the buffet and all of the food was really good. The next morning we had breakfast in the diner and it was good too. We definitely recommend GSR and plan to return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Dec 14, 2017
great place to stay, however, I had asked for a king size bed when booking with Expedia. but when I got there they wanted to charge me 20.00 more per night for the upgrade. I thought I was getting a king size bed when booking but I ended up with two queens, it was a nice room. My question is, why am I booking a king bed and getting a queen bed?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Good and not so

Posted Dec 13, 2017
The valet was helpful the first time then in a return he gave no assistance. I am older and needed help with the wheelchair for my husband and had no help! I didn't tip, but I think the hotel should talk to the valets to watch for those who may need additional assistance. That's why we use the valet service at hotels. There was glass in the carpet and called down and immediately came and took extra care to get any and all. The room was clean otherwise. The beds are comfy and pillows also. Housekeeping made the room nice on our multi day stay, supply's refilled and beds made. Fair coffee in room. Hard to top Starbucks so they have two in hotel (yay)! I will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salinas, CA

Excellent stay!

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Pros: Quality of staff, food and beverage selection and quality, cleanliness of sleeping room.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Reno has attractions for all kinds of people of all ages. The Grand Sierra Resort is located at the center of many of the city's attractions.
Every staff we encountered went out of their way to make us feel comfortable; every single employee was friendly, extremely courteous and it appeared they all enjoy their jobs! Our room was well appointed, clean and spacious. We ate at the Rim and Grand Cafe. I was over the top impressed with the quality of food at The Rim for dinner and our waitress provided exceptional service. The Grand Sierra Resort will be my home base while I go through my home-buying process from California and when relatives visit, I'll definitely encourage them to stay at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Dec 12, 2017
The hotel was quite comfortable. Very nice room with a fantastic view of the mountain range.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tricky

Posted Dec 12, 2017
They were the least expensive on expedia, until they add an additional 30.00 to advertised rate, upon check in. VERY DISAPOINTED
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Really nice with great restaurant options. We were there for a concert and the theater was awesome!! Definitely recommend paying more to stay in the upgraded rooms on the higher floors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minden NV

All good, except for trainee desk clerk.

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Ask for two bed room, not ready. Turned out she input a single bed room. Two beds quite available at that time. Waited an hour for text. Finally asked, rooms ready then.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Depends on what you need

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Probably not the best for a family like hours with younger kids who walk/crawl across the floor that was still fairly dirty and dusty. The movies theater was great though, took my son to his first in theater movie! Very big hotel, lots of stuff to just wander around and keep busy. Fitness center was very clean and new. I’d say much better for people looking to enjoy night life, but I was actually surprised that people were not too late in the late evening and the grounds were actually cleaned up often so you didn’t notice drinks, trash left by the drunk or careless people roaming around. Staff was very nice and accommodating. Noticed that someone had put a condom over the smoke detector in our room so they could smoke (non smoking room), overall ok but with small kids would consider something smaller, though I booked knowing what I would get as it was a last minute booking. Not a fan of the $30 resort fee!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lodi, ca

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Clean hotel, nice staff. Overall, we’ve enjoyed our stay. Will return again.