Ratings based on 515 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from idaho

Old bad location

Posted Apr 12, 2018
Upon arrival we found no parking on property had to park at meter. I have a 4x4 truck and most parking areas are only six feet tall. So limited parking. Check was smooth found that the pool was not heated. Room was old but clean. Staff that I interacted with were friendly and helpful. Room view was bad and loud.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2018 by Management, Hotel Management
We apologize that you did not have a comfortable stay. This certainly is not what most guests experience at our resort. We wished this information was brought to our attention. Our front desk is very quick and diligent to get a manager or supervisor to handle any issue or situation you have during your stay with us. Again thank you for your review as it helps us to be a better resort. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we have another opportunity to provide you with superior service & accommodations. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down

Posted Apr 3, 2018
The online pictures and description of this hotel were exaggerated. The check on staff were friendly and helpful, but it took a long time to check in. The room was run down. The pull out couch bed was extremely uncomfortable and the mattress looked nasty and the room had a musty smell. The two beds were comfortable (we had a suite). It's in a convenient location and the price was less expensive, but I guess you get what you pay for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2018 by Management, Hotel Management
We apologize that your stay was unacceptable by your standards. Since we are unaware who you are, we encourage you to contact us to discuss this matter further with us. Your feedback is very important to us and we would like to know a little more. We look forward to hearing from you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amenities Unavailable Over Three Months

Posted Feb 26, 2018
Expedia should remove pictures of the pool, sauna and other amenities. They are not, and have not been available to guests since at least early December 2017. Their own board shows all these fine facilities then states none available at this time. On arrival the front desk clerk was fighting with guest about check in deposit. Both were very belligerent with guest swearing and employee threatening to call police. Police were called. It wasn't until police arrived did any other employees show up. On check out, "Security" was a small, overworked (11 hour nightshift) grandma sitting behind front desk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2018 by Management, Hotel Management
We apologize that you did not have a comfortable stay. This certainly is not what most guests experience at our resort. Due to unforeseen issues, the spa area is in need of repair. We are also in the process of planning to upgrade several areas around the resort. As we constantly making upgrades to the property and the resort, we hope that you will visit us again in the future. We have full confidence in the safety, security and integrity of our resort and we want to make ensure that level of confidence is experience by all vacationing guests. Rest assured that your feedback is very important to us. Thank you once again for taking the time to convey the details of your stay. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

not good!

Posted Feb 22, 2018
Pros: The kitchen gear
Cons: Pool should work, A/C shouldn't be that laud, BLANKETS
Pool was closed, and I choose this place since it says they have indoor pool. My kids was so disappointed! It was cold (snowing outside), and there wasn't enough blankets in the room, the A/C was vert noisy, so we couldn't sleep. the next day we ask for extra blankets, they bring us very thin blanket. We complained, so they brought us only 2 thick one, and we are 6 people (2 rooms!). We try to get assist from the front desk and she said her manager won't reply her calls.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2018 by Management, Hotel Management
We apologize that you did not have a comfortable stay. This certainly is not what most guests experience at our resort. Due to unforeseen issues, the spa area is in need of repair. We are also in the process of planning to upgrade several areas around the resort. As we constantly making upgrades to the property and the resort, we hope that you will visit us again in the future. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Room too small for a 2 bedroom. But other than that everthing was great
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2018 by Management, Hotel Management
We apologize that you did not have a comfortable stay. This certainly is not what most guests experience at our resort. We wished this information was brought to our attention. Our front desk is very quick and diligent to get a manager or supervisor to handle any issue or situation you have during your stay with us. Again thank you for your review as it helps us to be a better resort. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we have another opportunity to provide you with superior service & accommodations. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Stayed for one night to visit Reno. It has the advantage of being really close to downtown and not far from uptown. Nothing else to say honestly, hotel was ok. Showers were barely warm. The pool has been closed forever but the women at front desk was very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2018 by Management, Hotel Management
We apologize that you did not have a comfortable stay. This certainly is not what most guests experience at our resort. Due to unforeseen issues, the spa area is in need of repair. We are also in the process of planning to upgrade several areas around the resort. As we constantly making upgrades to the property and the resort, we hope that you will visit us again in the future. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Great location, non-gaming!

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Very clean. I found nothing dirty in the 4 nights I stayed. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Facilities are extremely dated. The bathrooms have been updated but the entire complex is in need of an update overall. Would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2018 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to vacation at Legacy Vacation Club and for your feedback! We are in the process of upgrading several areas in and around the resort. As we constantly making upgrades to the property and the resort, we hope that you will visit us again in the future. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Family 2 night stay with 4 boys.

Posted Jan 16, 2018 on Hotels
Just ok. Our kids were disappointed the pool was closed and the ping pong table was broken. The room was nice, clean and beds comfortable. They liked the exercise room and the putting area. The kitchen area could have used a bakers rack or small table for counter space. There were no extra trash bags.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by Management, Hotel Management
We apologize that you did not have a comfortable stay. This certainly is not what most guests experience at our resort. Due to unforeseen issues, the spa area is in need of repair. We are also in the process of planning to upgrade several areas around the resort. As we constantly making upgrades to the property and the resort, we hope that you will visit us again in the future. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alameda, CA

Cheating on Pool Usage

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Nothing can be done to improve insulation of sound from next rooms/hall way, unless with a major remodeling.
Location: There is an island and a river nearby. Major casino hotels are within walking distance but that is true for most hotels in a little city like Reno.
Before booking, we called this hotel to make sure that we could use their indoor, heated swimming pool. The answer was YES. We paid higher price because our kinds wanted to go swimming. To our disappointment, the staff told us that the pool was closed during the day we checked-in. However, she said that the pool would be open next morning at 7 am. We brought the kids to the pool next day and found that it was still closed. When we asked the front desk, the staff claimed the pool needed to balance the chemicals. She didn't know when the pool would be open. Her manager was on the way and the manager would call us later. We got no call and the pool kept closed for three days--the whole period of our stay. One can imagine how disappointed our kids became. As a chemist, I know how short the chemicals can be balanced in a small swimming pool. This hotel is cheating its guests shutting down the pool by claiming the it needs to be chemically balanced. The hotel rooms are very uncomfortable -- one can hear people speak clearly in next room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2018 by Management, Hotel Management
We apologize that you did not have a comfortable stay. This certainly is not what most guests experience at our resort. We are in the process of planning to upgrade several areas around the resort. As we constantly making upgrades to the property and the resort, we hope that you will visit us again in the future. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
4 out of 5
by Eddie

Loved it

Posted Jan 3, 2018 on Hotels
It was a clean place and very close to downtown. Checking out was easy and gave me extra hours to checkout!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to vacation at Legacy Vacation Club and for your feedback! Our goal is to provide exceptional vacation experiences that will give you memories of a lifetime. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on the time you've spent at Legacy Vacation Club. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit! Sincerely, Legacy Vacation Club Management