Ratings based on 487 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reno NV

Close to downtown

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Rooms are clean but need upgrading. Especially the heater. It was noisy. Rugs need shampooing. Very good for the family
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
We apologize that you did not have a comfortable stay. This certainly is not what most guests experience at our resort. We are in the process of planning to upgrade several areas around the resort. As we constantly making upgrades to the property and the resort, we hope that you will visit us again in the future. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

November 2017

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: The location is a plus.
Cons: The room amenities and accessories are quite outdated. And for an area like Reno that has great fall nights, a Jacuzzi would be a nice amenity.
Location: The river walk and a park are just 2 blocks away from the hotel. Downtown Reno is about 4 blocks away. The best attraction is mid-town.
Judy is a 5 Star employee. She was friendly, forward-thinking, and so pleasingly energetic. She was wonderful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to vacation at Legacy Vacation Club and for your feedback! We are in the process of upgrading several areas in and around the resort. As we constantly making upgrades to the property and the resort, we hope that you will visit us again in the future. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

evicted

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: cleanliness
Cons: policy
Location: It was walking distance to downtown..yet far enough away.
We were evicted two days early because someone said a person who had vandalized the laundry room had come from our room.. This was not true..and even when they learned the truth, we had to leave. And were not given credit for the two days we had to pay for another hotel. Turned out the person who actually vandalized the laundry room was a relative of a staff person.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Convenient location, don’t expect to sleep

Posted Nov 10, 2017
The walls are thin, you can hear everything, including the garbage truck outside every morning at 7 am. Stayed for 4 nights and didn’t sleep more than 4 hours each night. Tried to nap in the afternoon but still too noisy to get any rest. Won’t come back here again, it ruined my vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
We apologize that you did not have a comfortable stay. This certainly is not what most guests experience at our resort. We wished this information was brought to our attention. Our front desk is very quick and diligent to get a manager or supervisor to handle any issue or situation you have during your stay with us. Again thank you for your review as it helps us to be a better resort. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we have another opportunity to provide you with superior service & accommodations. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Nov 4, 2017
The hotel room was very clean, had 2 bathrooms and was close to the court that we needed to go to. The walls are thin so you hear a lot of noises. The church bells every half hour 24-7 kept us from sleeping. We got cold the last day and when we turned on the heater it sounded like an airplane engine. Too loud if we wanted to sleep. I imagine the a/c would be the same. That's the only complaint.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We apologize that the room you had was unacceptable by your standards. This information was not brought to our attention. We wished this information was brought to our attention. Our front desk is very quick and diligent to get a manager or supervisor to handle any issue or situation you have during your stay with us. Again thank you for your review as it helps us to be a better resort. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we have another opportunity to provide you with superior service & accommodations. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2017
The sofa bed was terrible, which I probably should have expected. The shower wouldn't drain and created a puddle to stand in while I showered. Everything seemed a bit small and old, including fridge, TV, shower, and bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
We apologize that your stay was unacceptable by your standards. Since we are unaware who you are, we encourage you to contact us to discuss this matter further with us. Your feedback is very important to us and we would like to know a little more. We look forward to hearing from you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

old but still nice

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Pros: off the casino
I stayed here because I don't like staying in the casino hotels. It is an older place, but they keep things working, except my shower, which didn't work so took a long hot bath. Had trouble with the room card key, didn't work well and had to go downstairs twice to get a new one . Nice saunaand good parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments and feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Legacy Vacation Club. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit! Legacy Vacation Club Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from elko

You can cook

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Cooking you own food, nice balcony. Parking is good. Utensil, plates, and coffee maker were all clean.
Cons: Need a stronger fan for the Air-conditioner.
Location: If you like downtown Reno this a great location. Everything within walking distance. Organic food store around the corner.
room was clean except the table had some food stain.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Steve, Thank you for your comments and feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Legacy Vacation Club. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit! Legacy Vacation Club Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
We apologize that your stay was unacceptable by your standards. Since we are unaware who you are, we encourage you to contact us to discuss this matter further with us. Your feedback is very important to us and we would like to know a little more. We look forward to hearing from you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super clean room and friendliest staff

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
I was delightfully surprised at how super clean the room was. Excellent customer service at check in and check out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for the five star rating. We are pleased you chose us, Legacy Vacation Club, for your stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit! Regards, Legacy Vacation Club Management