Ratings based on 423 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reno river walk location excellent

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Location, full kitchen.
Location: River walk, museums, lots of restaurants and shopping, excellent health food store close by.
Clean room, had remodeled room very nice, oven dated but very functional. Location fantastic, staff very helpful kudos to Mark.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments and feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Legacy Vacation Club. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit! Legacy Vacation Club Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Great family resort

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Great staff
Cons: upgrade the halls
Location: Close to downtown Reno
This resort was the best by far we have ever stayed at as a family. They allowed us to use the pool after hours when we got in town late. The staff was super nice! The pool was clean. The rooms were super spacious and clean! With 4 little children, we really enjoyed having 2 bathrooms and two connecting rooms. The kitchenette was fully stocked and very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Rachel, Thank you for choosing to vacation at Legacy Vacation Club and for your feedback! Our goal is to provide exceptional vacation experiences that will give you memories of a lifetime. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on the time you've spent at Legacy Vacation Club. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit! Sincerely, Legacy Vacation Club Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

***Do Not Let The Title Fool You***

Posted Apr 27, 2017
This place by far is not a Vacation Resort! Place is very, very unsanitary, to say the least. Advertised photos are misleading. Furniture was dirty (in rooms and lobby areas), floors were sticky, pool was dirty, and there was hair in the shower from previous guest/s when we first arrived. Called front desk, no action taken after two calls. We asked for clean towel, garbage taken out, housekeeping (regardless of fee) never happen. When I called to complain about a foul odor and person smoking in the hallway (Advertised non smoking hotel), I was told to open a window (Really)!! With Asthmatic children, UNACCEPTABLE! Furthermore; It appears this place has no ventilation system, rooms were HOT. When the kitchen is used the smell lingers. Definitely not worth the cost since we booked online thru a third party at a higher rate. One website rated Legacy Vacation Resort at 7.2, others sites ratings were 2.0. The 2.0 is definitely a true representation of this place. Plus parking is horrible. Book at your own risk!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
We apologize that your stay was unacceptable by your standards. Since we are unaware who you are, we encourage you to contact us to discuss this matter further with us so we can address your issues. Your feedback is very important to us and we would like to know a little more. We look forward to hearing from you. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sonoma County, CA

Nice place.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Staff was very good.
Cons: Don't BS that the FULL sized beds are really queen sized beds.
Staff was awesome! Professional, polite, helpful. Only gripe is that I paid for a room with a QUEEN bed. The bed was a full. I called the desk and the lady tried to convince me that it really was a queen, it's just different in Nevada and Hawaii. Really? That's just corny. The bed was comfortable, but I was a little chilly because no comforter. Minor complaints, some I would remedy next time on my own. Nice place tho.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Jmsouth, Thank you for your comments and feedback. We apologize that you did not have a comfortable stay. This certainly is not what most guests experience at our resort. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we have another opportunity to provide you with superior service & accommodations. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I expected.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Filthy, old and poorly maintained. I hope I never end up in a place like that ever again, parking is horrible, they shouldn't use the word " Resort " on a place like that it's very miss leading the place looks more like a drug addict's hangout than any thing else if you haven't been there and you end up making a reservation to stay there make sure you have the option to cancel because you might want to after you inspect the facilities, get there early in case you want to go somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
We apologize that your stay was unacceptable by your standards. Since we are unaware who you are, we encourage you to contact us to discuss this matter further with us. Your feedback is very important to us and we would like to know a little more. We look forward to hearing from you. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here if you want to sleep!!

Posted Apr 3, 2017
We stayed here on our way home from Disneyland. After a 9 hour day in the car we wanted to relax, play in the pool a little & get some sleep. After playing in the pool we went back to our room to find out our key card wasn't working. So went back downstairs to get it fixed and there wasn't anyone there. I finally found the front desk girl outside smoking. There were people above us making noise until ALL hours of the night/morning! Dragging furniture across the floor and what sounded like people falling. It kept my kids awake too. We called the front desk twice and the first time they called up there and the second time they said they were sending someone up there to handle it. That didn't help. AT ALL. And the room was REALLY hot. They falsely advertise that they have air conditioning. They only have air conditioning in the middle of summer because "their building is old and they can only operate one at a time"(heat OR air conditioning but not both). When we checked out the manager said she had complaints all week about that room above us! But they continued to let them stay there and ruin everyone else's time and offered ZERO compensation for the inconvenience! So overall we were hot all night, didn't get any sleep and wasted $120. I would have rather slept in my car. I will NEVER stay here again. Also, the parking is AWFUL. The room was spacious. That's the only good thing I have to say about it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Amanda, Thank you for taking the time to review our property regarding your recent stay with us. We service many guests in our resort and our main goal is to provide clean and comfortable accommodation and an exceptions customer service. Consequently, we're very concerned we failed with our services. We're very sorry you were disappointed with the location of your accommodation. On behalf of our entire team please accept my sincerest apology. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we have another opportunity to provide you with superior service. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The front desk are Prejudist- not friendly!

Posted Mar 29, 2017
no need to waste my time for this hotel. My actual stay was for 3 nights but I moved out the 2nd night. I should get my money back.. no cleaning the room, lost of sleep etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
We apologize that your stay was unacceptable by your standards. Since we are unaware who you are, we encourage you to contact us to discuss this matter further with us. Your feedback is very important to us and we would like to know a little more. We look forward to hearing from you. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very spacious rooms but very hot.

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Very Spacious and it had 2 bathrooms!
Cons: Check your irons that it works and doesn't leak.
Location: na
Iron leaked all over my clothes, called F/D (7amish) and was told had to wait until 8am when housekeeping gets in. Not a good solution. I did not want to come down at 7am since I just woke up and needed to iron clothes. It took 3 calls before they sent it up. Room was hot and they gave us a fan but it did not really help. The fan was very noisy!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our sincere apology that the resort and your accommodations did not meet your expectations. Please note that this is not the experience we pride ourselves on providing our valued customers. Because of your issue, we have created a standard to have those items checked as well as back ups if one of the items were to cause an issue. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we have another opportunity to provide you with superior service & accommodations. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Cleanliness, ac/heat, decor, etc.
My experience was very disappointing. The room was not clean (e.g. filthy floorboards), burned out light bulb in the bathroom, there was a used washcloth hanging from shower (makes me wonder if the bathroom had been cleaned), door would not open (lock was not working properly), unable to cool room without opening sliding door, bathroom fan was so loud I could hardly stand turning it on, etc. Not planning to return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear MP, We apologize for the experience encountered while vacationing at our resort. The perception delivered is not indicative of our commitment to the overall service and guest satisfaction. We wished some of your room issues were brought to our attention. Our front desk is very quick and diligent to get a manager or supervisor to handle any issue or situation you have during your stay with us. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we have another opportunity to provide you with superior service & accommodations. Best Regards, Legacy Vacation Club
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Loved this place...well equipped, and alot of perks!!! Stove,and Oven...Would never stay anywhere else...Give this place a 10!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for the five star rating. We are pleased you chose us, Legacy Vacation Club, for your stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit! Regards, Legacy Vacation Club Management