Ratings based on 9,516 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excelente Location For Local Events

Posted Dec 5, 2016
overall experience was fine.......rooms in west tower need to be remodel paper wall and old furniture look from the 60's. I highly recommend a room on east tower it's more modern and alot cleaner if you can get one there get it...... food is great and you can't find a better location for local events...... rooms on west tower a bit noisy for me, you can hear doors open and close all night..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great Quality for Value of Money

Posted Dec 4, 2016
First time, staying at this property and it was great. Did to my short trip did not get a chance to view entire hotel, but I would go again. Great hotel, staff, rooms, and casino.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Room exactly as pictured!

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: Room.
Cons: Casino itself was rather bland and small.
Location: Was not too far away from downtown Reno. Went to S. Tahoe, which is within 40 minutes and very pretty drive.
The casino/hotel is old, but pleasant. The room was as pictured in the tower picture, had a view of the mountains and was extremely inexpensive! Do realize you will be charged a "resort fee" which is common in Reno and though annoying, it was cheaper at Nugget than a lot of other casinos. Frankly, due to the price, I didn't expect much from the hotel, but the beds were comfy, the pillows were good and the bathroom had good water pressure, with big mirrors and lots of room. There was a lot of traffic noise even on the 15th floor, but not enough to ruin sleep. The elevators are very slow, but that is not a big deal. The casino itself was average, but the pool area was beautiful. I would stay there again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winlock, United States of America

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: they have one of the best indoor hot tubs and swimming pool which makes it really nice because we know it gets very cold in the winter time so I love
Yes I stayed there quite a few times it's one of the best hotels that I've been in Reno everything is really good their food buffet and their swimming pool hot tub is the very best
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milpitas, United States of America

Nugget Hotel

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: comfortable rooms
Cons: better parking for guest in west wing.
Location: poor parking for west wing. you have to park more than a football field away from the hotel.
Food is not that great tasting. Steaks are thin and very tough. Never seem to be able to cook to what you request. Always over or undercooked. Told I had an Expedia food credit of $16 when I checked in, but only gave me $10 when I checked out after first not giving me any credit and then saying the hotel would give me a credit of $10 since I complained.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great Value...Comfortable Room

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Good facilities. Great large TV in a very clean room. Good breakfast place. Very reasonable cost.
Cons: Check in was very slow... painfully slow! Not enough people manning the reception desk.
Location: River walk, Auto Museum, Art Museum and Planetarium were very good.
Nice Casino/Resort with good restaurants. Can be a great bargain if booked at the right time. Somewhat separated from the downtown and next to a railroad terminal which can be a bit noisy especially in the West Tower. Overall, we would stay again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Airport shuttle unavailable

Posted Nov 30, 2016
We booked there since we needed an early morning shuttle. They no longer have one before 5 AM!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: The Guy name Phil at the check in counter is very friendly and professional. The keys in my room wasn't working. I told him my room number and he give
Cons: Need some kind of ventilezation in the bath room. The knob for the shower is too hard to turn the water on and off in the bath tube.
Valet parking personel are not Professional. They couldn't find my keys because someone put in the wrong place. They take tooo long to get my car. I told them I had to be at the Skii resort on time for my daughter skii lesson.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Ramon, CA

Hotel needs help. Frequently come here. Sad to see

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Over the years we have frequently stayed at The Nugget (John Ascuaga's Nugget) and it is sad to see how it has changed. We used to really enjoy coming here, but now we feel that the hotel is going down a slow decline and is in need of major renovation. We stayed in the West Tower which we know is the older tower, but our room was outdated and really worn with some parts of the carpet buckling and having stains. Our curtains were a struggle to open and close from being on a warped track. My son found a loose screw on the floor, no fun. Our shower head was leaking. The swimming pool was very cold all four days we were there and I never had the opportunity to swim in it. I could go on and get into more disappointing detail, but I will just leave it at this because I guess in a way I am still reminiscent about the good times we've had here in the past and somehow want to give this hotel the benefit of the doubt. The buffet and restaurants are still really good and it was nice to see some employees that we know from being regulars at the hotel. Unfortunately though we are going to reconsider where we stay in Reno from now on until the hotel makes improvements and is renovated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by Nugget Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate the feedback. Please look for our newly remodeled rooms coming in February of 2017.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Nice and perfect for a get away with the family and friends