Ratings based on 10,766 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Utah

Great place to stay in Reno.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Comfy beds, clean, nice bathroom. Lots of room to walk around.
Cons: Clean the pool.
The room was very clean and comfortable. The kids LOVE the pool, although it is cloudy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Love the remodel.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
The rooms re very nice. The update came out well. Gilleys is closed. Rumor has it they are putting in a Adult zone (Dave and Busters)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Convenient to Freeway

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Rosie's Cafe: children's Hot Dawgie and bun is way too much for jids under 12 years old.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Good hotel but might not get your reserved room.

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: It was generally an all-around good hotel and the room was clean and nice.
Cons: Passing through the smoke-filled casino floor is difficult to avoid. Ensuring that guests get the room type they reserve would be nice, too.
Location: Go to Reno.
The staff was friendly, check in was pretty brief, room was clean and of good quality, and had a good view. My only complaint is that I booked a king sized bed for my room and was given 2 queens. The hotel said there was a convention in town and they were overbooked and that it was Expedia's fault for booking King beds when none were available and so on--whatever the reason, the hotel needs to work with Expedia to make sure people get the rooms they reserve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wildomar, CA

Nice restaurant

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Everything was great
Cons: Nothing
Location: Not sure, I stayed in before my trip down to Southern California the next day.
I had a very nice dinner at the steakhouse. I drove up from Vegas to see a friend and only needed the hotel to sleep, but everything was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Great hotel with wonderful SIGNATURE rooms. Best value in town and recommend it highly
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Dirty Room / NOT a premier room as Expedia listed.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Centrally located, a short walk takes you to the movies and restaurants in Victorian Square. Short drive to Legends Outlets. Great indoor pool.
Cons: The ventilation system could be improved upon as upon entering the casino, you definitely can smell the cigarette smoke.
Location: Location is just off of Hwy 80. Nearby is a movie theater, great dining and Legends Outlet shopping. Good covered parking garage with ample parking.
This room was marketed this room as a "premier" room which, upon check-in at the Nugget, was a basic, older room. If we wished to have a "premium" Nugget room, one that was recently renovated, it would be a $25 additional charge. Very misleading! I interpreted "premier" as an upgraded room, one that is nicer than a basic room at any hotel. Merriam Webster's definition of premier is "first in position, rank or importance", "first in time". The premier room king bed had, what looked like, poop stains on the bed blanket that laid between the flat sheet and the comforter. The pillowcases did not fit the pillows making them unsanitary to use. There was black mold on the air vent in the bathroom, very evident upon walking into the bathroom. With this said, we wondered what else was dirty that wasn't obvious to us. I do have pictures of all of the above, but unfortunately my pictures are larger than 5 MB so I cannot display them here. We did mention the dirty room upon check-out to the front desk girl including showing her the pictures we took and she said she would not charge us the resort/tourism fee. ( big deal.) I felt the Nugget could have done more to keep our business. I can say we saw an awesome concert there that evening, so that part was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT.

Added Costs

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Cons: Disclose all costs!
I booked my flight and hotel through expedia thinking everything was all paid for. When I checked in there was a $100 deposit that gets reimbursed after you check out. This happens at most hotels but it seemed high to me. The problem I had is when I went to check out I was charged an additional $22.43 for a "resort fee". I checked in at 11:30 p.m and checked out at 6:30 a.m. I just needed a place to sleep but unknown to me I had to pay this "resort fee" for pool, fitness rooms, etc.. None of which I used or was planning to use. Expedia did not disclose these added costs and the hotel said it was because of expedia I was being charged. If I had made the reservation on my own the "resort fee" would not have been included. It's not a lot of money but it always sucks to get added unknown charges. I don't think I will be using expedia again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel convenient to my work location

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Easy access to the parking, unusual for a Casino hotel, and parking was free! Great food at the buffet.
Cons: All good!
Location: I loved watching the trains and the planes from my room! I read several reports about noise issues but to me that was no issue at all! No noise!
David at front desk was great. Gave me the room I wanted and it turned out to be awesome. Small upgrade charge for the room in the west tower but totally worth it. Was a corner room with magnificent views!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Abby , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for staying with us at the Nugget! We are glad to hear David provided our guest deserve.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worn out , stained carpet

Posted Jul 12, 2017
$20 "ResortFee" is a rip off They will tack this onto the price for the privelage of staying . Was a nice place 30 years ago