Ratings based on 8,781 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Good deal for downtown Reno

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Price Dining Location
Cons: Updating of floor decor Improved Elevators
Location: Not as close to Virginia Ave. as the other casinos, but walkable.
Needs updating, but it does offer a place downtown that doesn't cost you and arm and a leg. Resort fee is among the lowest and the coupons gave us 2 for 1 drinks, $5 off dinner, etc. Elevators and hallway decor/carpeting need a lot of work. Staff was friendly. Some very nice food options like the Copa. I would certainly stay at Sands again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do NOT recommend

Posted Jul 7, 2017
This hotel doesn't guarantee non smoking room. Check-in is super slow. The price doesn't match. There were drunken people following us to find out our room number and then left. We checked out immediately as we has huge safety concern.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Napa, Ca

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Found drug paraphernalia in our room and staff did not even apologize or make any adjustments to our bill - horrible service
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Hotel looks like it hasn't been renovated in more than 20 years.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Outdated and felt dirty.

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Most staff were nice, but hotel felt and looked dirty and itwas very outdated also foood was not good. Mel's Diner was excellent!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Worst hotel experience ever.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything. New management would be a start.
They are selling the property and the staff could care less about guests (they will even say this to you!). We booked two rooms for a weekend stay. The hotel staff did not even clean our rooms the first day (we were gone from 9am-4pm golfing), and when I called house keeping, they sent a guy up with towels who did not speak English. The A/C is the whole casino and rooms is barely functioning which made us spend half the time walking to other resorts just to cool down. Also, the casino doesn't keep table games open on Friday and Saturday nights (they closed roulette and craps at 8pm). When I asked the pit boss she said they did not schedule enough dealers...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You book any different hotel but not this hotel.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
I booked four rooms online When I get there for check in they charge me $ 15 extra for each room I will never go again in this hotel . And I'm not recommend to go this hotel. This hotel is terrible There don't have microwave Don't have refrigerator Don't have sofa There towels and room is very bad smelling
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Hotel not clean, getting old, older furniture, old carpet, ambient wasn't good, only one receptionist at check in with a long line of costumers
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location easy access for almost everything

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Staff are not so friendly ice machine is not working AC too noisy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2017
It was a lot of fun everything was so close to us. All the staff was really nice and really quick I was in line for maybe 2mins.